Sudowrite Review 2026
Fiction-only AI writing app with a Story Bible, the Muse model and credit-based plans
- Pricing
- Free Trial · from $19
- Platforms
- Web, Android, iOS
- Best for
- Novelists, short-story and screenplay writers who want an AI that keeps their characters, outline and style in context while drafting and revising
- Not ideal for
- Bloggers and marketers, writers who want unlimited generation at a flat price, or anyone needing INR billing
- Developer
- Sudowrite (Human Plus Plus, Inc.; founded by Amit Gupta and James Yu)
Our verdict
Sudowrite is the most complete AI co-writer built purely for fiction, and the Story Bible plus Muse make it far better than a general chatbot at keeping a novel consistent. The credit system is its weak spot: costs vary by model and cheaper plans lose unused credits monthly. Start on yearly Hobby & Student and upgrade only if you need Feedback or heavy drafting.
How this score works: the DevMixa score is research-based — we compare official pricing, features, documentation, support options, security and data policies, and public user feedback against other tools in the same category. It is not a hands-on test; tools we test ourselves are marked “Tested”.
What is Sudowrite?
Claude 4.1 Opus used more than 8,000 credits to write 200 words in a test Sudowrite publishes in its own help docs, while GPT-5 Nano used about 70 for the same job. That spread explains Sudowrite better than any feature list, because every plan is sold as a monthly bucket of credits and the model you pick decides how fast it drains. This Sudowrite AI for fiction writers review looks at what those credits buy, how the Story Bible (once marketed as Story Engine) turns a messy idea into chapters, what the in-house Muse model does differently, and where a general chatbot or NovelAI may suit you better. Sudowrite was started by two writers, Amit Gupta and James Yu, and it is built only for fiction: novels, short stories, screenplays and serials. Nothing here is aimed at blog posts or ad copy.
Sudowrite pricing, credits and what 225,000 of them actually buy
There are three paid plans and no permanent free tier. The figures below are the regular list prices from Sudowrite's plan article in its help centre (updated January 2026), which match the yearly rates on sudowrite.com/pricing. All prices are in US dollars; there is no rupee price, so the INR column is a rough conversion at about ₹94.7 per dollar, before your bank's forex markup.
| Plan | Credits per month | Billed monthly | Billed yearly (per month) | Approx. INR, monthly billing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hobby & Student | 225,000 | $19 | $10 | about ₹1,800 |
| Professional | 1,000,000 per the help article (see below) | $29 | $22 | about ₹2,750 |
| Max | 2,000,000, unused credits roll over | $59 | $44 | about ₹5,590 |
Check one figure before paying: the help article gives Professional 1,000,000 credits, but the pricing page has also shown 450,000 beside it, so confirm the allowance at checkout. The "Up to 50% off" tag on the billing switch is just the yearly discount.
A credit is not a word. Sudowrite admits it cannot predict a feature's cost, because it depends on the prose mode, the model and how much of your manuscript is sent as context. Short, targeted actions such as Rewrite on a paragraph are cheap; generating a whole chapter from scene beats is expensive. Quick Edit and Chat cost nothing by default, and only switch to credits if you turn on their High Quality setting. You can see exactly where credits went from the gear menu under "Show Recent Activity".
Two plan rules matter more than the headline numbers. First, on Hobby & Student and Professional, unused credits vanish at each monthly refresh. Only Max keeps them, for up to 12 months while the subscription stays active. Second, top-up credits bought on any plan never expire. So a writer who drafts in bursts may do better on a smaller plan plus top-ups than on Max.
Is there a free way in?
The pricing page offers a free trial with no credit card on each plan, but neither it nor the help article states the trial length or its credit allowance, so treat it as a short taste rather than a free plan. After paying, the help centre promises a refund if you write in within the first seven days. If you cancel later, the pricing FAQ says your projects stay accessible; you only lose the AI features.
Sudowrite Story Engine: how it works now that it is called Story Bible
Sudowrite's glossary lists Story Engine as a legacy term used interchangeably with Story Bible, so anyone searching for the old name will find the same pipeline under a new label. It is a per-project panel that you fill in from the top down, and each section feeds the next:
- Braindump holds your raw idea. You must type this yourself; there is no generate button.
- Genre and Style are also written by you, though Style can come from Match My Style using a sample of your prose.
- Synopsis is generated from the Braindump and Genre, then Characters and Worldbuilding are generated from the Synopsis.
- Outline draws on the genre, synopsis, characters and worldbuilding to produce chapter-level plot outlines.
- Scenes break each chapter into beats, and Draft turns those beats into chapter prose.
Every generated field can be edited, regenerated or rewritten before you move on. One detail from the docs saves frustration: scene and prose generation only pull in characters and worldbuilding entries that are actually named in the scene, so a sidekick you forgot to mention will not appear. Character development still happens in your edits.
Muse 1.5 and the thirty-odd other models behind the Write button
Sudowrite groups its models into prose modes. Muse is the flagship, currently Muse 1.5, and it is the default for Draft and Write; it also powers Expand and Synopsis generation in the Story Bible. The docs make three claims about this muse model that matter to novelists: it was trained only for fiction, the team measured and removed common AI clichés from its output, and it is unfiltered, so it does not force happy endings and will handle violence or adult themes. It works best in English. You can paste up to 1,000 words of your own writing as Style Examples, a feature limited to Muse and the Excellent mode.
Excellent runs on Claude 3.7 Sonnet and Basic on GPT-4o Mini. Beyond those, an experimental list includes GPT-5, several Claude 4.x versions, Gemini 3 Pro and Flash, DeepSeek V3.1 and R1, Grok 4 and Kimi K2. The pricing page also names a second in-house model, Ballad, which the help articles do not yet describe. The practical lesson from that 8,000-credit test: try a scene in Muse before reaching for the most expensive frontier model.
Describe, Rewrite and Expand on a single paragraph
Most daily use is selecting a flat paragraph and asking for help. The describe feature returns sensory options (sight, sound, smell, taste, touch and a metaphor) for whatever you highlight, which is handy when a setting reads like stage directions. The rewrite tool reworks a passage in a direction you choose, such as shorter, rephrased, or show-not-tell. Expand fattens a rushed scene. Used together, expand and show don't tell rewrites are where Sudowrite earns its keep for revising drafts, because they keep your plot and change only the texture. Write, the original feature, suggests roughly the next 300 words in your voice when you are stuck mid-scene.
Canvas and Brainstorm before the first chapter
Canvas is a whiteboard of draggable cards for writers who plan visually. You can lay out plot points, character arcs and relationships as cards and move them around until the structure holds. Brainstorm is lighter: ask for character names, magic items, titles or plot turns, and thumbs-up the keepers so they stay in your history. Visualize generates character or setting art from your descriptions, and a plugin library (the homepage claims over 1,000 community tools) covers jobs the core editor does not.
Feedback, the one feature Hobby & Student does not get
Feedback reads your draft and, according to the homepage, returns five concrete areas to improve. The plan article confirms it is exclusive to Professional and Max. If you mainly want a critique partner rather than a co-writer, this is the reason to skip the entry plan. ProWritingAid's paid plans include AI chapter critiques too, though its core is grammar and style checking rather than generation.
Sudowrite vs ChatGPT for fiction drafts
A general chatbot can brainstorm and draft scenes, and ChatGPT is cheaper if you already pay for it. What it lacks is project memory built for books. You have to re-paste your synopsis, character sheet and style notes, and long conversations drift. Sudowrite keeps that context in the Story Bible, lets every book in a series share one bible of characters and worldbuilding, and sends only relevant entries with each request. Muse is also built to be unfiltered, so it will not nudge a grim plot toward a happy ending. The trade-off is cost and lock-in: Sudowrite's credits run out, and its editor is another place to keep your manuscript.
Sudowrite vs NovelAI: guided pipeline or open-ended generation
NovelAI, according to its own subscription docs, charges $10, $15 or $25 a month for its Tablet, Scroll and Opus tiers, all with unlimited text generation and image credits on top. That makes it the better deal for heavy, freewheeling generation, interactive fiction and anime-style images. Sudowrite costs more per month for the same headline, but gives a structured route from idea to outline to chapters, editing tools aimed at revision, and a choice of frontier models. For novel writing AI that behaves like a writing partner on a manuscript, Sudowrite fits better; for unlimited play, NovelAI does.
Who owns a Sudowrite manuscript, and is it plagiarism safe?
The help centre's intellectual property article says the writing you generate remains yours and counts as your intellectual property, to use and distribute as you choose. The pricing page FAQ adds that Sudowrite claims no rights over your input or output and does not use your writing to train its own or OpenAI's models. On plagiarism, Sudowrite argues verbatim copying is extremely unlikely because text is generated token by token, with the risk mainly around very famous passages such as song lyrics, and it suggests running a plagiarism checker anyway. Two gaps remain: the privacy policy does not name the outside AI providers your text is sent to, and it does not say where data is stored. Publishers and contest rules may also ask you to disclose AI use, which is your call, not Sudowrite's.
Gaps a paying novelist will run into
- Credit costs are unpredictable, so budgeting a full draft is guesswork until you watch your activity log for a week.
- Credits on the two cheaper plans do not roll over.
- Muse is tuned for English; other languages need extra prompting.
- The mobile apps for iOS and Android cannot generate Story Bible sections, new Visualize images or new series folders.
- No INR billing, and the trial length is not published.
Verdict of this Sudowrite AI for fiction writers review: is it good for beginners?
Beginners can start quickly: the editor looks like a normal word processor and the toolbar needs no prompting skill. The risk is leaning on Draft to write chapters you have not planned, which produces generic prose. A sensible first week: import one existing chapter, run Describe and Rewrite on its weakest pages, fill in the Braindump and Synopsis for your next book, and check the activity log to see what each action costs before choosing a plan. If you are revising or outlining a novel and want the AI to remember your cast, Hobby & Student billed yearly is a low-risk test; upgrade to Professional only if you want Feedback.
Sudowrite key features
- Story Bible pipeline: Braindump, synopsis, characters, worldbuilding, outline, scenes, draft
- Muse 1.5 fiction model, plus Claude, GPT, Gemini, DeepSeek and other experimental models
- Write suggests about the next 300 words in your voice
- Describe, Rewrite and Expand on selected text
- Brainstorm for names, items, titles and plot ideas
- Canvas board for mapping plot points and character relationships
- Feedback on your draft (Professional and Max)
- Chat and Quick Edit included without credits by default
- Series projects that share one Story Bible across books
- Visualize art and 1,000+ community plugins
- iOS and Android apps with Smart Dictation and sync
✓ Verified on · source
Sudowrite specifications
| SaaS / Web App | |
|---|---|
| Free trial | Free trial, no credit card; refund if requested within the first week of a paid plan |
| Built for | Individuals, Students |
| Key integrations | Community plugins |
| Support channels | |
| Mobile app | Android & iOS |
| AI Tool | |
| AI models used | Muse 1.5 (default), Excellent (Claude 3.7 Sonnet), Basic (GPT-4o Mini); experimental GPT-5, Claude 4.x, Gemini 3, DeepSeek V3.1/R1, Grok 4, Kimi K2, Mistral Large 2 |
| Input types | Text, Audio |
| Output types | Text, Image |
| Languages supported | 30+ languages per pricing page; Muse works best in English |
| Free credits / limits | Free trial without credit card; length and credits not stated |
| Mobile App | |
| Platforms | iOS, Android |
✓ Verified on · source
Data & privacy
| Trains on your data? | No |
|---|---|
| Commercial use of outputs | Not stated |
✓ Verified on · source
Sudowrite pricing
| Plan | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Hobby & Student (monthly) | $19/mo | 225,000 credits per month; core tools, Story Bible, Muse and other models; credits expire at monthly refresh. |
| Hobby & Student (yearly) | $10/mo | Billed annually. Same features and 225,000 monthly credits. |
| Professional (monthly) | $29/mo | 1,000,000 credits per month per the help article (the pricing page has also shown 450,000, so confirm before buying); adds Feedback; credits expire monthly. |
| Professional (yearly) | $22/mo | Billed annually. Same features and credit allowance as Professional monthly. |
| Max (monthly) | $59/mo | 2,000,000 credits per month; Feedback included; unused credits roll over for up to 12 months while subscribed. |
| Max (yearly) | $44/mo | Billed annually. Same features and 2,000,000 monthly credits with rollover. |
✓ Verified on · source
Sudowrite pros & cons
Pros
- Built only for fiction, with project memory through the Story Bible
- Muse model is unfiltered and trained to avoid common AI clichés
- Choice of many frontier models inside one editor
- States it does not train on your writing and claims no rights to your work
- Top-up credits never expire; Max credits roll over for 12 months
Cons
- No permanent free plan and trial length is not published
- Credit use per feature is unpredictable
- Credits on Hobby & Student and Professional expire monthly
- Feedback is locked to the two higher plans
- USD-only billing and Muse works best in English
Official Sudowrite links
- Official website sudowrite.com
- Pricing page sudowrite.com
- Documentation docs.sudowrite.com
- Documentation docs.sudowrite.com
- Privacy policy docs.sudowrite.com
- App Store apps.apple.com
✓ Verified on · source
Sudowrite user reviews
No user reviews yet. Used Sudowrite? Share your experience to help others.
Write a review of Sudowrite
Sudowrite FAQ
What is Sudowrite?
Sudowrite is a web-based AI writing tool made only for fiction, founded by writers Amit Gupta and James Yu. It combines an editor with tools such as Write, Describe, Rewrite, Expand and Brainstorm, plus a Story Bible that takes a novel from idea to outline to chapter prose. iOS and Android apps sync with the web app.
Is Sudowrite free?
No, there is no permanent free plan. The pricing page offers a free trial without a credit card, but the trial length is not published, and paid plans come with a refund if you ask within the first seven days. Your projects stay accessible even after you cancel.
How much does Sudowrite cost?
Hobby & Student is $19 a month or $10 a month billed yearly for 225,000 credits. Professional is $29 monthly or $22 yearly; the help article lists 1,000,000 credits, but the pricing page has also shown 450,000, so check there before buying. Max is $59 monthly or $44 yearly for 2,000,000 credits that roll over for up to 12 months. Prices are in USD only; monthly Hobby & Student works out to roughly ₹1,800.
How does Sudowrite Story Engine work?
Story Engine is the older name for what Sudowrite now calls Story Bible. You type a Braindump, genre and style, then generate a synopsis, characters, worldbuilding, an outline, scene beats and finally chapter prose, with each step feeding the next. You can edit or regenerate every field before moving on.
Sudowrite vs NovelAI: which is better?
NovelAI is cheaper for volume, with tiers at $10, $15 and $25 a month that include unlimited text generation, and it suits open-ended storytelling and image generation. Sudowrite costs more but offers a structured novel pipeline, revision tools and a choice of frontier models. Pick Sudowrite for drafting and revising a manuscript, NovelAI for unlimited play.
Is Sudowrite worth it for novelists?
It is worth it if you will use the Story Bible and revision tools every week, because they keep your characters and plot in context in a way a general chatbot does not. It is less attractive if you write in bursts, since credits on the two cheaper plans expire monthly. The yearly Hobby & Student plan is the cheapest way to find out.
Is Sudowrite plagiarism safe?
Sudowrite says verbatim copying is extremely unlikely because text is generated one token at a time, and that deliberately forcing plagiarism breaks its terms. The main risk is with very well-known text such as famous song lyrics or book openings. It recommends checking final work with a plagiarism checker.
Who owns content written with Sudowrite?
You do. Sudowrite's intellectual property article says the writing you generate remains your intellectual property, and the pricing FAQ says it claims no rights over your input or output. It also states that your writing is not used to train Sudowrite's or OpenAI's models.
What are the best Sudowrite alternatives?
NovelAI is the closest rival for AI story generation, with unlimited text on every paid tier. ChatGPT or Claude can draft and brainstorm if you manage your own notes, and ProWritingAid is a better fit if you want editing and critique more than generation.
Is Sudowrite good for beginners?
Yes, the editor looks like a normal word processor and tools like Describe and Rewrite need no prompt writing. Beginners should avoid letting Draft write unplanned chapters and should watch the credit activity log during the trial to see what each action costs.
Sudowrite alternatives
Grammarly
AI Tool · SaaS / Web App · Extension / PluginAI writing assistant that checks grammar, clarity and tone everywhere you type
QuillBot
SaaS / Web App · AI Tool · Mobile App · Desktop Software · Extension / PluginAI paraphraser, grammar checker and humanizer built for students and everyday writers
Frase
SaaS / Web App · AI ToolAgent-led SEO and GEO platform that researches, writes, scores and publishes articles
Jasper
AI Tool · SaaS / Web AppAI content platform for marketing teams with brand voice controls