Rytr Review 2026

Low-cost AI writer for short emails, captions and ads, now with a relationship assistant

Research-based score 3.6/5 DevMixa score
Visit Rytr ↗ Free plan available
Pricing
Freemium · from $9
Platforms
Web
Best for
Freelancers, solo founders and small agencies who need cheap first drafts of emails, captions, ads and meta titles.
Not ideal for
Writers of long researched articles, multilingual users on a budget plan, and teams that need a stated AI training or data policy.
Developer
Rytr LLC, United States (Terms of Use mailing address: Sheridan, Wyoming)

Our verdict

3.6out of 5

Rytr is one of the cheapest ways to get unlimited AI drafts of emails, captions and ads, and the free plan is enough to test it properly. The single-language limit, dollar-only billing, no-refund terms and vague data policy hold it back. Use it for short marketing copy, and pick QuillBot if you mostly rewrite your own text.

  • Ease of use4.0
  • Features3.4
  • Value for money4.0
  • Support2.9

How this score works: the DevMixa score is research-based — we compare official pricing, features, documentation, support options, security and data policies, and public user feedback against other tools in the same category. It is not a hands-on test; tools we test ourselves are marked “Tested”.

What is Rytr?

Rytr started life as a low-cost AI writing assistant and is still best known for that, even though its homepage now pitches it as an AI relationship manager that reads your Gmail, Outlook, Slack and calendar. This review sticks to the writing side, which Rytr calls Create, and explains the Rytr unlimited plan price and free limits, what you get for the money, and where cheaper or better tools exist. Every number below comes from Rytr's own pricing page, help centre or legal pages, checked on 17 October 2026, unless a different source is named.

What Rytr is and who it suits

At its core, Rytr is a template-driven AI writer. You pick a use case (an email, a social caption, an SEO meta title, a call to action), choose a language and a tone, add a few lines of context and it produces up to three variants at a time. There is also a blank-document editor with commands such as Expand, Shorten, Improve and Continue Ryting, plus a chat mode called Rytr Chat. The company does not disclose which large language model sits underneath.

The typical buyer is a solo founder, freelancer, small agency or social media manager who writes many short pieces every week and wants them cheaply. If you mostly need short marketing copy, cold emails and captions, the tool makes sense. If you write long, researched articles or need team workflows, it is a weaker fit.

Rytr use cases and tones explained

The homepage lists 40+ writing use cases on every plan, including the free one. The navigation highlights Email, SEO Meta Title, Reply to Reviews and Messages, Paragraph Content, Post and Caption Ideas and Call To Action. For most readers the email writer and the caption templates will get the heaviest use. Create has no keyword or SERP research built in, so think of Rytr as a short-form drafting tool, not a blog idea generator with SEO data behind it.

Tone selection works through a dropdown next to the language picker. The help centre says there are 20+ preset tones, naming convincing, awestruck and inspirational as examples. Separate from these presets is tone matching (the help centre calls the feature MyVoice), which studies a sample of your writing and copies its style. The pricing table gives Free no tone match, Unlimited one matched tone and Premium multiple matched tones. A help article from August 2025 says Unlimited users can create up to five personal tones, so the exact allowance depends on when you check.

A custom use case is the most useful power feature. According to the help centre, you open Custom Use-Cases in the tools menu, click create, fill a short form that describes the output you want, and save it. It then sits beside the built-in templates. This is limited to paid plans, and the newer homepage plan cards list it only under Pro.

Language support is 30+ languages, including Hindi alongside Arabic, Japanese, Spanish and others. The catch: Free and Unlimited users get one language of their choice, which can be changed once a month. All languages need Premium.

Rytr unlimited plan price and free limits, side by side

Rytr's site currently shows two sets of plan cards, so it helps to know both. The pricing page at rytr.me/pricing lists Free, Unlimited and Premium. With yearly billing ("get 2 months free"), Unlimited shows as $7.50 a month and Premium as $24.16 a month, which works out to $90 and $290 a year. The Monthly toggle on that page shows no separate figures for these two plans, so we have left month-to-month rates out rather than repeat numbers from price trackers.

PlanPrice (yearly billing)GenerationPlagiarism checksLanguages
Free$010K characters a monthNone1
Unlimited$7.50/moUnlimited, input limit doubled50 a month1
Premium$24.16/moUnlimited, input limit tripled100 a month35+

The homepage, checked the same day, lists a different set: Free, Lite at $9/mo, Personal at $19/mo and Pro at $49/mo, with a toggle promising 20% off on yearly billing. Lite covers the writing side (unlimited characters). Personal and Pro add Engage allowances such as connected sources, tracked relationships and person research runs, and only Pro lists custom use cases.

Which set will a new buyer see? Rytr has not said. The homepage cards look like the newer line-up, because they are built around Engage, the help centre gives Engage its own section, and the Chrome extension now carries the same relationship-assistant branding. The help articles that describe Unlimited and Premium were last updated in August 2025. Even so, rytr.me/pricing still shows the older plans, so open the checkout screen and confirm the plan name and price before entering card details. You may also see Saver mentioned in third-party reviews; it is an older plan name and appears on neither Rytr page.

Rytr free plan 10000 characters: what that buys

The free plan gives 10,000 characters of generation each month with no credit card. Rytr's help article on credits says every generated or processed character counts, including text you later delete, and the quota resets monthly with no rollover. In practice that covers several emails and a handful of captions, not a full blog post plus revisions.

Other free-tier caps: one language, no tone matching, no plagiarism checks and no custom use cases. The character limit on input is also lower than on paid plans, since Unlimited doubles it and Premium triples it. Rytr does not publish the base figure.

INR pricing, payments and refunds for Indian buyers

There is no rupee price. The pricing FAQ says all prices are in US dollars and Stripe applies the exchange rate when you buy, so the final amount on an Indian card will move with the dollar and may include your bank's forex markup. Rytr says it takes all major credit and debit cards through Stripe. UPI and net banking are not mentioned anywhere, so plan on using a card with international online payments switched on.

Refunds are strict. The Terms of Use say subscriptions are not refundable, though the company may look at a request case by case, and a help article from August 2025 adds that fees are not prorated if a plan ends early. If you cancel, you keep access until the period ends. Yearly plans carry a 12-month commitment, so start monthly if you are unsure.

Plagiarism checker and originality

The built-in plagiarism checker is a paid feature, with 50 checks a month on Unlimited and 100 on Premium. Rytr makes no promise that its output is original, and the Terms say the company gives no guarantee about content accuracy. Treat drafts as drafts: run the checker, edit by hand and verify facts before publishing.

Privacy, data and commercial use

The pricing FAQ says you own the content you generate, subject to the Terms of Service, and the Terms let Rytr use your content to operate the service. Commercial use is not addressed in so many words. The privacy policy names Rytr LLC, says data may be processed in the United States and lists GDPR-style rights such as access and erasure, but it does not say whether your inputs train AI models. The security page has section headings with no detail under them. Agencies handling client material under NDA should keep that gap in mind.

The rytr chrome extension, listed in the Chrome Web Store as an "AI Writing & Relationship Assistant" (version 2.1.10, about 40,000 users, updated 16 October 2026), lets you write and rewrite text on any site and adds context inside Gmail, Slack and LinkedIn. Its store listing says it collects personal communications, web history and website content, which goes well beyond a typical writing plugin. Install it only if you are comfortable with that.

Rytr vs QuillBot

These two tools solve different problems. QuillBot is a rewriting tool: paste existing text and it paraphrases, checks grammar, summarises and cites. Rytr generates new copy from a template. On price, QuillBot Premium is $8.33 a month billed annually, close to Rytr Unlimited's $7.50, but QuillBot's free paraphraser stops at 100 words per input, while Rytr gives 10,000 characters of fresh generation.

Rytr UnlimitedQuillBot PremiumCopy.ai Chat
Yearly price$7.50/mo$8.33/mo$24/mo
Monthly priceNot shown$19.95 (third-party)$29
StrengthShort-form templatesParaphrasing, grammar, citationsChat for teams, 5 seats
Plagiarism50 checks/mo25,000 words/moNot listed

QuillBot also gives 23 paraphrasing languages on Premium against Rytr's single language on Unlimited. Pick QuillBot if you mainly polish your own drafts, and Rytr if you need first drafts of emails and ads from nothing.

Rytr alternatives free and paid

Copy.ai has moved upmarket. Its Chat plan costs $29 a month or $24 a month billed yearly ($288), includes five seats and unlimited chat words, and the next tier jumps to $1,000 a month for workflow automation. That makes it a better match for a sales or marketing team than for one freelancer.

Jasper is far pricier: Pro is $59 per seat a month billed yearly or $69 monthly, after a 7-day trial. If cost is your main worry, Rytr is clearly cheaper than Jasper. For a free option, QuillBot's free tier covers light paraphrasing, and Rytr's own free plan is enough for occasional short copy.

Limitations to weigh

  • Only one language on Free and Unlimited, changeable once a month.
  • No rupee pricing, no UPI and a no-refund policy.
  • The company does not name its AI model or state a training policy.
  • Two plan line-ups on the site make it unclear which one checkout will show.
  • There is no public status page.

How to get started

Sign up at app.rytr.me with your email and choose your one language. Pick a use case such as Email, set a tone, write two or three lines of context and generate three variants. Watch the usage counter under Settings, Plan to see how fast your 10,000 characters go. If the output stops, check that you have not hit the monthly quota or the input limit first, then email support@rytr.me. Upgrade to Unlimited only after a week of real use shows the free tier is too tight.

Rytr key features

  • 40+ writing use cases on every plan
  • 20+ preset tones plus tone matching from your own writing
  • 30+ languages including Hindi (all languages on Premium)
  • Up to 3 variants per generation
  • Editor commands: Expand, Shorten, Improve, Continue Ryting
  • Custom use cases on paid plans
  • Plagiarism checker (50 or 100 checks a month)
  • Rytr Chat
  • Chrome extension for writing on any site
  • Engage relationship features for Gmail, Outlook, Slack and calendar
  • API with documentation on GitHub

✓ Verified on · source

Rytr specifications

SaaS / Web App
Free trialFree forever plan, no credit card
Built forIndividuals, Small teams, Agencies
Key integrationsChrome extension; Engage works with Gmail, Outlook, Slack, Google Calendar, Google Meet, Granola and text messaging; API
Support channelsEmail
AI Tool
Input typesText
Output typesText
Languages supported30+ languages including Hindi; Free and Unlimited get 1 language (changeable monthly), Premium gets all
Free credits / limits10,000 characters a month, resets monthly, no rollover
Extension / Plugin
Works withChrome
Latest version2.1.10
Active installs (official store)About 40,000 users (Chrome Web Store, 17 Oct 2026)

✓ Verified on · source

Data & privacy

Data stored inUnited States (per privacy policy)
Trains on your data?Not stated
Commercial use of outputsNot stated

✓ Verified on · source

Rytr pricing

PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$0/m10K characters a month, 1 language, no tone match, no plagiarism checks, no credit card. Homepage card adds 1 connected source, 25 relationships, 25 Engage actions and 3 research runs.
Unlimited (yearly)$7.50/mrytr.me/pricing, yearly toggle, billed $90/yr. Unlimited generation, input limit doubled, 1 tone match, 50 plagiarism checks a month, 1 language. Monthly rate not shown on Rytr's pages.
Premium (yearly)$24.16/mrytr.me/pricing, yearly toggle, billed $290/yr. Unlimited generation, input limit tripled, multiple tone match, 100 plagiarism checks a month, 35+ languages. Monthly rate not shown on Rytr's pages.
Lite (homepage)$9/moHomepage plan card (17 Oct 2026): everything in Free plus unlimited characters per month. Yearly toggle says save 20%; yearly price not shown.
Personal (homepage)$19/moEverything in Lite plus 2 connected sources, 250 active relationships, 250 Engage actions and 10 person research runs a month.
Pro (homepage)$49/moEverything in Personal plus all connected sources, 1,000 relationships, 2,000 Engage actions, 50 research runs, morning and evening briefings, custom use cases.

✓ Verified on · source

Rytr pros & cons

Pros

  • Very low yearly price for unlimited generation
  • Permanent free plan with 10,000 characters a month
  • Large template library for short marketing copy
  • Custom use cases let you save your own templates
  • Chrome extension works on any website

Cons

  • Only one language on Free and Unlimited
  • No INR pricing, no UPI and no refunds
  • No stated policy on training AI with your inputs
  • Two different plan line-ups on the site cause confusion
  • Extension collects communications and browsing data

Rytr user reviews

No user reviews yet. Used Rytr? Share your experience to help others.

Write a review of Rytr

Your rating

Rytr FAQ

What is Rytr AI writer?

Rytr is an AI writing assistant that drafts short content such as emails, captions, ads and meta titles from 40+ templates in 30+ languages and 20+ tones. Its homepage now also sells Engage, a relationship manager that works with Gmail, Outlook, Slack and your calendar. The writing side is called Rytr Create.

How much does Rytr cost in India?

Rytr has no INR pricing. Its pricing FAQ says prices are in US dollars, with Stripe converting at the exchange rate on the day you pay. The pricing page shows Unlimited at $7.50 a month and Premium at $24.16 a month on yearly billing, while the homepage lists Lite at $9 a month, so confirm the plan at checkout and allow for your bank's forex markup.

How many characters are free on Rytr?

The free plan includes 10,000 characters of AI generation a month with no credit card. Every generated or processed character counts, including deleted text. The quota resets monthly and unused characters do not carry over.

How do I use a custom use case in Rytr?

Open the tools section, choose Custom Use-Cases and click create. Fill in the short form describing the content you want, then save, and the template appears with the built-in use cases. Custom use cases need a paid plan, and the newer homepage cards list them under Pro.

Is Rytr content plagiarism free?

Rytr does not guarantee originality, and its Terms say it makes no promise about content accuracy. Paid plans include a plagiarism checker with 50 checks a month on Unlimited and 100 on Premium. Run a check and edit the text yourself before publishing.

Rytr vs Jasper, which is cheaper?

Rytr is much cheaper. Rytr Unlimited shows as $7.50 a month on yearly billing, while Jasper Pro costs $59 per seat a month billed yearly or $69 monthly. Rytr also has a permanent free plan, whereas Jasper offers a 7-day trial.

Does Rytr accept UPI or Indian cards?

Rytr says it accepts all major credit and debit cards through Stripe, and UPI is not mentioned. Indian Visa, Mastercard or similar cards should work if international online transactions are enabled. Expect the charge in US dollars.

What are the best Rytr alternatives?

QuillBot suits people who mainly paraphrase and polish their own text, with Premium at $8.33 a month billed annually. Copy.ai's Chat plan at $24 a month yearly fits small teams needing five seats. Jasper is a pricier option at $59 per seat a month on yearly billing.

How do I fix Rytr not generating content?

First check Settings, Plan to see whether you have used your monthly character quota, which is 10,000 characters on the free plan. Also shorten your input, since each plan has an input character limit. If the problem continues, contact support@rytr.me.

Who is Rytr best for?

Rytr suits freelancers, solo founders and small agencies who write lots of short copy such as emails, captions and ads on a small budget. It is less suited to long researched articles, multilingual teams on the Unlimited plan or anyone who needs a clear AI training policy.

Rytr alternatives

See all 16 Rytr alternatives →