Udio Review 2026
AI song generator with strong editing tools, now licensed by Universal and Warner
- Pricing
- Freemium · from $8
- Platforms
- Web, iOS
- Best for
- Songwriters, hobbyists and producers who want to sketch songs, test arrangements and share tracks by link
- Not ideal for
- YouTubers, agencies or musicians who need downloadable audio files or clear commercial rights today
- Developer
- Uncharted Labs Inc., Not officially stated
- Founded
- 2023
Our verdict
Udio still makes some of the most musical AI songs, and its licences with Universal and Warner put it on safer legal ground than most rivals. But with downloads disabled since October 2025, it is a sketchpad, not a production tool. Creators who need files should pick Suno for now.
How this score works: the DevMixa score is research-based — we compare official pricing, features, documentation, support options, security and data policies, and public user feedback against other tools in the same category. It is not a hands-on test; tools we test ourselves are marked “Tested”.
What is Udio?
Since 29 October 2025, nobody on Udio has been able to download a song, not even one made before that date or on a $30-a-month Pro plan. That one fact shapes this whole udio ai music generator review and pricing guide. The product still writes impressive tracks from a text prompt, and paid credit allowances went up after the change, but every song now lives inside Udio's player while the company builds a licensed service with Universal Music Group. Below is what you get for your money in October 2026, what you cannot do, and who should still subscribe.
Why Udio locked songs inside its own player
Udio comes from Uncharted Labs, a startup set up in December 2023 by former Google DeepMind researchers, and it opened to the public in April 2024 as an ai song generator that could produce vocals good enough to unsettle the music industry. Universal and the other majors sued it for copyright infringement that year.
The turn came on 29 October 2025. Universal settled, signed recording and publishing licences with Udio, and the two announced a new subscription service for creating, streaming and sharing music, due in 2026, as Music Business Worldwide reported the next day. During the changeover the existing app became what Universal called a walled garden, with fingerprinting and filtering promised before the new service opens. Udio's help centre now states plainly that downloading of audio, video and stems has been disabled. After a backlash, Udio opened a single 48-hour window from 3 November 2025 so users could export old work, according to Digital Music News and AP. It has not reopened.
Warner Music Group followed with its own settlement and licence in November 2025. Udio's help article on the Warner deal says the planned platform will let fans make remixes, covers and new songs using the voices and styles of artists who opt in. Trade press including Music Business Worldwide, Music Week and Digital Music News has since reported licences with Merlin, which represents independent labels (January 2026), and with publisher Kobalt (April 2026).
So where is the new platform? As of mid-October 2026, two reviews published that month (one by a rival music app) say it has not launched and that Udio has given no date for downloads to return. Treat any blog post promising otherwise with caution until udio.com itself says so.
Udio pricing: Standard, Pro and the free tier side by side
The pricing page at udio.com/pricing renders only in a browser. The $10 and $30 monthly prices appear in the plan descriptions on Udio's own App Store listing, and the trial help article gives $96 as the yearly Standard charge. Udio does not publish a yearly Pro rate on any page we could check, so we leave it out. Credit numbers come from Udio's help centre and rupee prices from the Indian App Store.
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | Indian App Store (in-app) | Credits | Songs at once |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | $0 | Free | 10 a day, then 100 a month | Not stated |
| Standard | $10 | $8 a month ($96 a year) | ₹999 a month or ₹9,900 a year | 2,400 a month | Up to 6 |
| Pro | $30 | Not published | ₹2,999 a month or ₹29,900 a year | 6,000 a month | Up to 10 |
The Universal deal had one upside for subscribers. Standard went from 1,200 to 2,400 monthly credits, Pro rose from 4,800 to 6,000 and gained a fifth parallel slot, and every paying account received a one-off grant of 1,000 credits that do not expire. Monthly allowances still reset each cycle with no rollover. Top-up packs sold in the iOS app cost ₹299 for 100 credits and ₹2,499 for 1,000; the help centre says purchased credits never expire.
A trial exists, but read its fine print. It covers Standard only, lasts up to seven days, keeps free-tier credit limits, and if you do not cancel you are charged for a full annual Standard subscription (about $96 plus tax in the US, per Udio's example) unless you picked monthly billing.
What Udio free credits per day actually buy
Music generation credits are spent per request, and every Create, Extend, Remix, Inpaint or Edit request returns two clips. A pair of 32-second clips costs 2 credits; a pair of full 130-second songs costs 4. Trimming is free.
A free account gets 10 credits a day. Once those are gone, a separate 100-credit monthly pool kicks in. There is also a hard cap of three 130-second songs a day no matter how many credits remain. In practice that is enough to learn the prompt style and judge the vocals, but not enough to iterate on a full track with several extensions. Subscribers working through their monthly pool can produce hundreds of full-length pairs: 2,400 credits works out to about 600 full-length requests if you never use short clips.
The iOS app listing still advertises audio and video exports on the free plan. That copy is out of date; the help centre's statement on disabled downloads applies to every tier.
The editing tools that keep people paying
Without downloads, the case for Udio rests on how much control it gives you while composing. The core loop is text to music: describe a genre, mood and instruments, add your own words or ask for an instrumental, and you get two takes. From there the useful tools are:
- Extend track: add an intro, a new section or an outro to any clip, building a song in 32-second or longer pieces.
- Remix: re-render a clip with a changed prompt to get a new take on the same idea.
- Inpainting: added in January 2025, it regenerates only a selected stretch of a finished song, so a bad bar or a mumbled line can be fixed without losing the rest.
- Styles: generate from an uploaded clip or a library track used as a style reference.
- Voices: launched in September 2025 to keep a singer consistent across songs.
- Sessions: a timeline view for arranging and editing parts of a track.
The trial description also lists music and lyrics editing, audio-guided generation and custom cover art among subscriber features. For lyrics generation in Hindi or other Indian languages, test short lines first, because Udio publishes no official list of supported languages.
The model line-up has not moved since v1.5 Allegro arrived in March 2025 with faster generation. Udio's Warner help article confirms v1, v1.5 and v1.5 Allegro stay available during the transition, and the public changelog has no 2026 entries. Any article citing "Udio v3" or "v4" is describing something Udio has not announced.
Udio commercial use rights after the Universal settlement
This is the question most buyers get wrong. Since 29 October 2025 the service runs on transition terms of service, and neither the Universal nor the Warner help article spells out what commercial rights look like now. We could not confirm the current wording of the full terms page either.
What is certain is practical. A client jingle, a YouTube background score or a track for Spotify distribution needs an audio file, and Udio will not give you one. Sharing a udio.com link, which anyone can open without an account, is the only way a song leaves the platform. Recording the playback through your sound card is not an approved route and would put you at odds with a service that now runs label fingerprinting. Until the licensed platform ships with its own rules, treat Udio output as listen-and-share only.
None of the help articles we read offers a training opt-out or explains how your prompts and uploads feed model training, which is another reason to keep unreleased client stems off it.
Udio vs Suno for creators who need a file
The two launched months apart and were compared track for track through 2024. Their paths have since split.
- Price: almost identical. Suno Pro is $10 a month or $8 billed yearly, Premier $30 or $24, and both list ₹999 and ₹2,999 in their Indian iOS apps.
- Files: Suno Pro allows 20 downloads a month and Premier 60, with commercial use on paid plans. Udio allows none.
- Credits: Udio's Standard plan gives 2,400 credits and a full-length pair costs 4. Suno Pro gives 2,500, and its App Store copy implies roughly 5 credits per song, so Udio's allowance probably goes further.
- Legal position: Udio has licences from Universal, Warner, Merlin and Kobalt. Suno has Warner on board but still faces Universal and Sony in court.
- Apps: Suno has Android and iOS apps; Udio's help centre documents only an iOS app.
If a song must leave the platform, Suno wins by default. Udio remains the better sketchpad for musicians who care about instrumental texture and are content to listen, share links and wait.
Better Udio alternatives when you need to publish
Beyond Suno, ElevenLabs now generates music alongside its voice tools, and agencies should read its licence terms for paid plans before quoting a client. Soundraw targets royalty-free background beds for video rather than vocal songs. Each of these hands you a file, which is the whole point for most Indian YouTubers and Reels editors.
Is Udio available in India, and should you pay in rupees?
Yes. The web app works from India, and the iOS app is listed on the Indian App Store by Uncharted Labs Inc. with rupee pricing. Udio's help centre documents no Android app, so Android users should use a mobile browser. Web prices are quoted in dollars. On paper the $96 yearly web plan is cheaper than ₹9,900 in-app, but add your bank's forex fee and tax before deciding, and if your card struggles with foreign payments, the App Store route is simpler.
Udio AI music generator review and pricing: who should subscribe now
Pay for Standard if you are a songwriter testing melodies, a hobbyist who enjoys sharing links with friends, or a producer studying arrangement ideas to recreate in a DAW by ear. Skip it for any job that ends with a delivered audio file, at least until the licensed platform launches with download and usage rules in writing.
To try it sensibly, start on the free tier and spend a week of daily credits on 32-second clips, which cost half as much as full songs. Use extend and inpainting on your best clip to see whether the editing suits your workflow. If you upgrade, choose monthly billing so the trial does not roll into an annual charge, and keep notes of your plan and dates in case rights change when the new service opens.
Udio key features
- Text-to-song generation with vocals
- Custom lyrics or instrumental mode
- Extend clips into full songs
- Remix with prompt changes
- Inpainting to regenerate a selected section
- Styles from uploaded or library audio
- Voices for a consistent singer
- Sessions timeline editor
- Models v1, v1.5 and v1.5 Allegro
- Shareable public song links
- iOS app
✓ Verified on · source
Udio specifications
| SaaS / Web App | |
|---|---|
| Free trial | 7-day Standard trial (free-tier limits) |
| Built for | Individuals |
| Mobile app | iOS only |
| AI Tool | |
| AI models used | v1, v1.5, v1.5 Allegro |
| Input types | Text, Audio |
| Output types | Audio |
| Free credits / limits | 10 credits per day plus 100 per month (max 3 full songs/day) |
| Mobile App | |
| Platforms | iOS, iPadOS |
✓ Verified on · source
Data & privacy
| Trains on your data? | Not stated |
|---|---|
| Commercial use of outputs | Not stated |
✓ Verified on · source
Udio pricing
| Plan | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 10 credits/day plus 100/month, max three 130-second songs/day, no downloads |
| Standard | $10/mo ($8/mo billed yearly); ₹999/mo in iOS app | 2,400 credits/month, up to 6 songs at once, editing tools, no downloads |
| Pro | $30/mo (yearly rate not published); ₹2,999/mo in iOS app | 6,000 credits/month, up to 10 songs at once, no downloads |
✓ Verified on · source
Udio pros & cons
Pros
- Generous credits: 2,400 a month on Standard
- Inpainting and extend give fine control over a track
- Licensed by Universal, Warner, Merlin and Kobalt
- Usable free tier with daily credits
- Rupee pricing in the iOS app
Cons
- No audio, video or stems downloads on any plan since October 2025
- Commercial use rights unclear under transition terms
- Trial can roll into a full annual charge
- No Android app listed by Udio and no public API
- No new model since March 2025
Official Udio links
- Official website udio.com
- Pricing page udio.com
- Documentation help.udio.com
- Changelog help.udio.com
- App Store apps.apple.com
✓ Verified on · source
Udio user reviews
No user reviews yet. Used Udio? Share your experience to help others.
Write a review of Udio
Udio FAQ
What is Udio AI?
Udio is an AI music generator made by Uncharted Labs, a startup founded in December 2023 by former Google DeepMind researchers. You type a description and optional lyrics and it returns two full songs with vocals and instruments. It now operates under licences from Universal and Warner while a new licensed platform is built.
How much does Udio cost?
Udio's App Store listing describes Standard at $10 a month and Pro at $30 a month, and the trial help article puts yearly Standard at $96 ($8 a month). Udio does not publish a yearly Pro rate we could confirm. In India the iOS app charges ₹999 a month for Standard and ₹2,999 for Pro, with credit packs from ₹299.
Is Udio free?
Yes, there is a free tier with 10 credits a day plus a 100-credit monthly pool, capped at three full-length songs a day. You can create, extend and remix, but you cannot download anything on any plan right now.
How do you make a song with Udio?
Sign in at udio.com, type a prompt describing genre, mood and instruments, and either add your own lyrics or choose instrumental. Udio returns two takes. Pick the better one, then use Extend to add sections and Inpaint to fix weak parts.
Can I use Udio songs commercially?
Not in any practical way today. Downloads of audio, video and stems have been disabled since 29 October 2025, and Udio's help pages do not describe current commercial rights under its transition terms. Wait for the licensed platform's rules before using Udio for paid work.
Udio vs Suno: which is better?
For anything you need to publish, Suno is better because paid plans include monthly downloads and commercial use. Udio has a stronger licensing position with Universal and Warner and generous credits, but songs stay inside its player. Prices are almost the same.
Is Udio available in India?
Yes. The website works in India and the iOS app is on the Indian App Store with rupee pricing for Standard and Pro. There is no Android app documented in Udio's help centre, so Android users need the browser.
What are the best Udio alternatives?
Suno is the closest alternative and still allows downloads on paid plans. ElevenLabs Music suits commercial projects needing licensed output, and Soundraw is aimed at royalty-free background tracks for videos.
Why can't I download songs from Udio?
Udio switched off downloads of audio, video and stems on 29 October 2025 as part of its settlement with Universal Music Group. A one-time 48-hour export window followed in November 2025. No date for downloads to return has been announced.
Who is Udio best for?
Udio suits songwriters, hobbyists and producers who want to sketch ideas, study arrangements and share songs by link. It does not suit YouTubers, agencies or musicians who need files for release or client delivery.
Udio alternatives
ElevenLabs
SaaS / Web App · AI Tool · API · Mobile AppAI voice platform for text to speech, voice cloning, dubbing and voice agents
Fireflies.ai
SaaS / Web App · AI Tool · Mobile App · Extension / Plugin · Desktop SoftwareAI meeting notes for Zoom, Meet and Teams, with Hindi and 100+ languages
tl;dv
SaaS / Web App · AI Tool · Extension / Plugin · Desktop Software · Mobile AppFree unlimited meeting recordings for Meet, Zoom and Teams, with paid AI notes
Riverside
SaaS / Web App · AI Tool · Mobile AppRemote podcast studio with local 4K recording, Magic Clips and a transcript editor