Trello Review 2026
Visual kanban boards for teams, with built-in automation and a free plan
- Pricing
- Freemium · from $5
- Platforms
- Web, Android, iOS, Windows, macOS
- Best for
- Freelancers, small teams and agencies who want a simple visual task board that people adopt without training.
- Not ideal for
- Teams that need portfolio reporting, workload planning, native time tracking or a self-hosted deployment.
- Developer
- Atlassian, Sydney, Australia (Atlassian)
- Founded
- 2011
Our verdict
Trello remains the easiest board tool to adopt, and its Free plan is enough for a small team that stays under 10 collaborators. Standard is the sensible upgrade for most teams; pay for Premium only if you will use Timeline, Calendar and Dashboard every week.
How this score works: the DevMixa score is research-based — we compare official pricing, features, documentation, support options, security and data policies, and public user feedback against other tools in the same category. It is not a hands-on test; tools we test ourselves are marked “Tested”.
What is Trello?
Trello is Atlassian's list-and-card tool for tracking work, and most buyers arrive with one practical question: which tier is worth the money? This review sets out trello free vs standard vs premium using the official pricing page and Atlassian's support docs, as checked on 17 October 2026. It then compares Trello with Asana and Notion, so you can decide whether to pay at all.
What Trello is and who it suits
Trello launched in 2011 at Fog Creek Software. Atlassian announced a deal worth about $425 million to buy it in January 2017. The core idea has barely changed. You get kanban boards made of lists, and each list holds cards that move from left to right as work progresses. A card carries a description, checklist, due date, labels, attachments, comments and members.
That is enough structure for a content calendar, a hiring pipeline, a two-week sprint for a small dev team or a client onboarding tracker at an agency. It suits freelancers, startups and agencies who want a tool people will open on day one without training. It fits less well in companies that need workload balancing, portfolio reporting or strict task dependencies.
Key features in practice
Most daily use happens on the board itself. You drag Trello cards between lists, open one to tick off a checklist, and @mention a teammate when something needs their eyes. Standard adds custom fields (budget, priority, client name), advanced checklists where each item can have an owner and a due date, and card mirroring so one card can sit on several boards.
Power-Ups are Trello's add-ons. The pricing page lists them as unlimited per board on every plan, Free included, which was not always the case. They connect boards to tools such as Slack, Google Drive, Jira and GitHub.
The recent redesign added two personal tools. Trello Inbox is a private capture space: forward an email, save a Slack or Microsoft Teams message, or dictate a to-do through Siri on iOS, then move it onto a board later. Planner links your Google or Microsoft calendar so you can drag cards into time slots and block focus hours. Atlassian's May 2025 launch post said both were rolling out to Free, Standard and Premium users, although the current pricing page lists Planner among Standard features, so check what your plan shows.
Trello templates help when you are starting from a blank screen. Premium goes a step further with Workspace templates, so a team can reuse its own standard board setup for every new client.
How Trello Butler automation works
Butler was the original name for Trello's built-in automation. Many users still call it that, though the product now simply labels it Automation. You create rules (for example, when a card moves to Done, mark the due date complete), card buttons, board buttons and scheduled commands. No code is needed.
Trello automation limits are where the plans really split. According to Atlassian's quotas page, each trigger or button press counts as one run, and every action inside it uses at least one operation:
- Free: 250 runs, 2,500 operations and 250 emails a month.
- Standard: 1,000 runs, 20,000 operations and 1,000 emails a month.
- Premium and Enterprise: unlimited runs, with 150,000 operations plus 10,000 per user, capped at 250,000 per Workspace.
Quotas are pooled across the whole Workspace (Enterprise pools them across all its members) and reset on the first day of each month at midnight GMT. A single run can perform at most 20 actions and operations combined. Do the maths before you commit: a single rule that fires 15 times a working day burns roughly 330 runs a month, which already breaks the Free quota.
Trello free vs standard vs premium: what changes at each tier
The table below uses per-user prices from trello.com/pricing. Annual means the monthly equivalent when billed yearly.
| Item | Free | Standard | Premium | Enterprise |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price, billed annually | $0 | $5/user/mo | $10/user/mo | $17.50/user/mo ($210/user/yr) |
| Price, billed monthly | $0 | $6/user/mo | $12.50/user/mo | Not listed |
| Collaborators | Up to 10 per Workspace | Unlimited | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Boards | 10 per Workspace | Unlimited | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Automation runs | 250/mo | 1,000/mo | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Max file size | 10MB | 250MB | Not stated | Not stated |
| Extra views | None listed | None listed | Calendar, Timeline, Table, Dashboard, Map | Same as Premium |
| AI features | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
In short: Free is a capable personal or very small team board. Standard is the cheapest way to remove the collaborator cap and get custom fields. Premium is where reporting and planning views appear, along with admin controls, observers and CSV export.
Free plan limits you will hit first
The biggest one is the collaborator cap. Atlassian's help article says Free Workspaces are limited to 10 collaborators. That count includes Workspace members, guests on any board and even pending invites. People on closed boards and deactivated accounts are not counted.
Cross the line and every board in the Workspace turns view-only. Cards cannot be edited, and automations on those boards stop running. Storage itself is unlimited on Free, but each file is capped at 10MB, which rules out most design files and video clips. You also get a maximum of 10 boards per Workspace.
Trello pricing per user, explained
Every paid tier is billed per user. Standard is $5 a month on annual billing or $6 month to month. Premium is $10 annually or $12.50 monthly. Enterprise is quoted at $17.50 per user per month on annual billing, which is $210 per user a year, and the page offers an estimator for larger seat counts.
A worked example helps. An eight-person agency team pays $40 a month on Standard annual, or $480 a year. The same team on Premium annual pays $80 a month, or $960 a year. Paying Premium month to month pushes that to $100.
Trello does not publish rupee prices, so Indian teams pay in US dollars and should expect their card's forex markup on top. Two other costs are easy to miss. SAML single sign-on needs Atlassian Guard, a separate subscription that starts at $4 per user per month, unless you are on Enterprise where Guard Standard is included. A free Premium trial is available for any Workspace, so test the paid views before you commit.
Trello timeline, calendar and other Premium views
Board view is what everyone gets. The Trello calendar view, the Trello timeline, Table, Dashboard and Map views are all listed under Premium on the pricing page, together with Workspace-level Table and Calendar views that pull cards from several boards into one screen.
Timeline is the closest Trello gets to a Gantt chart, laying dated cards out across a schedule. Dashboard turns board data into simple charts. For a manager who needs a weekly status picture, these views are the real reason to buy Premium.
AI in Trello
Atlassian's support page says AI is available on Standard, Premium and Enterprise, not on Free. It is switched on by default and Workspace admins can turn it off. Current uses include help with writing and editing card content, and AI-powered Quick Capture, which reads emails and Slack messages sent to your Inbox and pulls out a title, due dates and a checklist of action items.
On data, Atlassian's trust page states that its third-party model providers do not use your inputs and outputs to improve their services and do not retain them.
Trello vs Asana
Asana's free Personal plan is aimed at individuals and caps sharing at two seats per project and team. Starter costs $10.99 per user per month billed annually ($13.49 monthly) and already includes timeline and Gantt views, dashboards, automations, forms and custom fields. Advanced, at $24.99 annually or $30.49 monthly, adds portfolios, goals, resource management, approvals and time tracking.
So the fair comparison is Trello Premium at $10 against Asana Starter at $10.99: similar money for similar views. Asana is the better pick once you need goals, portfolios or workload planning across many projects. Trello wins on simplicity, a far more generous free tier (10 collaborators against two seats) and a cheaper middle step in Standard.
Trello vs Notion
Notion is a docs-and-database workspace where a board is just one view of a database. Its pricing page lists Plus at $10 and Business at $20 per member per month, with savings of up to 20% on yearly billing. The Free plan gives a limited block allowance once two or more members share a workspace, 5MB uploads, 10 guests and only a limited trial of Notion AI.
Pick Notion if the team's real need is a wiki, meeting notes and project pages in one place. Pick Trello if the job is moving tasks through stages quickly, because its cards, automation and mobile capture are built around exactly that.
Jira, monday.com and other alternatives
Jira is Atlassian's other tracker and is built for software teams, with backlogs, sprints and issue types that Trello does not attempt. If engineering is the main user, start there. monday.com sits closer to Asana, with more structured boards and reporting, but expect more setup time. Asana, Notion, Jira and monday.com are the four alternatives most teams shortlist alongside Trello.
Security, privacy and support
The pricing page states that Trello holds SOC 2 Type 2, ISO/IEC 27001 and PCI-DSS certifications. It is cloud-only, with no self-hosted version. Two-factor authentication is available on Free, while Enterprise adds organisation-wide permissions, attachment controls and Power-Up administration. Atlassian's privacy policy covers Trello, Inc. as one of its US subsidiaries. Premium includes priority support with a one-business-day response target, and Enterprise adds 24/7 admin support.
Limitations to weigh
- Calendar, timeline and dashboards need Premium, which doubles the Standard price.
- The 10-collaborator cap makes Free awkward for agencies that invite clients.
- There is no native time tracking or workload view.
- Large boards with hundreds of cards get hard to scan.
- No INR billing and no on-premise option.
Is Trello good for small teams?
Yes, for teams of up to about ten people with a simple, visual workflow. Free covers them until they add an eleventh collaborator or need more than 250 automation runs. Past that point Standard at $5 per user is cheap insurance.
How to get started
- Sign up at trello.com and create a Workspace for your team.
- Build one board per project with three lists to start: To Do, Doing, Done.
- Add cards for real tasks, with owners and due dates, and invite teammates.
- Create one simple rule, such as marking a card complete when it reaches Done, and watch your run count.
- Install the mobile app and use Inbox to capture tasks on the go.
- Start the free Premium trial before buying, and check whether you actually use Timeline and Dashboard.
Trello key features
- Kanban boards with lists and cards
- Checklists, labels, due dates and attachments
- Unlimited Power-Ups on every plan
- Built-in no-code automation (formerly Butler)
- Trello Inbox for capturing tasks from email, Slack and Teams
- Planner with Google and Microsoft calendar sync
- Calendar, Timeline, Table, Dashboard and Map views (Premium)
- Custom fields and advanced checklists (Standard and up)
- Card mirroring across boards
- Atlassian AI on Standard, Premium and Enterprise
- Apps for web, Windows, macOS, iOS and Android
- REST API with webhooks
✓ Verified on · source
Trello specifications
| SaaS / Web App | |
|---|---|
| Free trial | Free Premium trial for any Workspace (14 days per Atlassian's AI support page) |
| Built for | Individuals, Small teams, Agencies, Enterprise |
| Key integrations | Unlimited Power-Ups per board, including Slack, Google Drive, Jira and GitHub |
| Support channels | Email, Community |
| Mobile app | Android & iOS |
| Mobile App | |
| Platforms | Android, iOS |
| Android package ID | com.trello |
| Desktop Software | |
| Operating systems | Windows, macOS |
| License | Subscription |
| API | |
| API style | REST, Webhooks |
| Authentication | API key |
| Free tier | Yes, API available to all accounts |
| Rate limits | 300 requests per 10 seconds per API key; 100 per 10 seconds per token |
✓ Verified on · source
Trello pricing
| Plan | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Up to 10 collaborators and 10 boards per Workspace, unlimited Power-Ups, unlimited storage (10MB per file), 250 automation runs/month. |
| Standard | $5/user/mo billed annually ($6 monthly) | Unlimited boards and collaborators, custom fields, advanced checklists, card mirroring, Planner, 250MB files, 1,000 automation runs/month, AI and Quick Capture included. |
| Premium | $10/user/mo billed annually ($12.50 monthly) | Calendar, Timeline, Table, Dashboard and Map views, unlimited automation runs, Workspace templates, observers, admin and security features, AI included. |
| Enterprise | $17.50/user/mo billed annually ($210/user/yr) | Everything in Premium plus unlimited Workspaces, organisation-wide permissions, attachment permissions, Power-Up administration, multi-board guests, public board management, Atlassian Guard Standard and 24/7 Enterprise Admin support. |
✓ Verified on · source
Trello pros & cons
Pros
- Generous Free plan with unlimited Power-Ups and storage
- Very easy to learn for non-technical teams
- Standard at $5 per user (annual) is one of the cheapest paid tiers in the category
- Quick mobile capture through Inbox and Siri on iOS
- SOC 2 Type 2, ISO/IEC 27001 and PCI-DSS certified
Cons
- Calendar, Timeline and Dashboard views need Premium
- 10-collaborator cap on Free counts guests and pending invites
- No native time tracking or workload view
- No INR billing and no self-hosted option
Official Trello links
- Official website trello.com
- Pricing page trello.com
- Documentation developer.atlassian.com
- Privacy policy atlassian.com
- Status page trello.status.atlassian.com
- Google Play play.google.com
- App Store apps.apple.com
✓ Verified on · source
Trello user reviews
No user reviews yet. Used Trello? Share your experience to help others.
Write a review of Trello
Trello FAQ
Is Trello free?
Yes. Trello has a Free plan at $0 with unlimited cards, unlimited Power-Ups per board, unlimited storage (10MB per file) and 250 automation runs a month. It is limited to 10 boards and 10 collaborators per Workspace.
How much does Trello Premium cost?
Premium costs $10 per user per month when billed annually, or $12.50 per user when billed monthly. It adds Calendar, Timeline, Table, Dashboard and Map views, unlimited automation runs, admin controls and priority support. A free Premium trial is available.
What are the Trello Free plan limits?
Free Workspaces allow up to 10 collaborators (members, guests and pending invites all count) and 10 boards. Files are capped at 10MB each, and automation is limited to 250 runs and 2,500 operations a month. Going over the collaborator limit turns the Workspace's boards view-only.
How do you use Trello for project management?
Create one board per project, add lists for each stage such as To Do, Doing and Done, and add a card for every task with an owner and due date. Use checklists inside cards for sub-steps and automation rules for repeated moves. On Premium, Timeline and Dashboard views give a schedule and status overview.
Is Trello good for small teams?
Yes, especially for teams of up to about ten people with a visual, stage-based workflow. The Free plan covers them until an eleventh collaborator joins or automation needs exceed 250 runs a month. Standard at $5 per user a month (annual) removes those caps.
Trello vs Asana: which is better?
Trello is simpler and has a more generous free tier, while Asana is stronger for goals, portfolios and workload planning. Trello Premium ($10 per user, annual) and Asana Starter ($10.99 per user, annual) are similarly priced and both include timeline-style views. Choose Asana if you manage many related projects at once.
Trello vs Jira: what is the difference?
Both are made by Atlassian. Jira is built for software teams, with backlogs, sprints and issue types, while Trello is a general-purpose board for any kind of task. Non-technical teams usually find Trello quicker to adopt.
Trello vs monday.com: which should you choose?
monday.com offers more structured boards and reporting and sits closer to Asana in scope, but it takes longer to set up. Trello is lighter and quicker to learn. If you mainly need cards moving through stages, Trello is usually enough.
What are the best Trello alternatives?
The alternatives most teams shortlist are Asana, Notion, Jira and monday.com. Asana suits multi-project planning, Notion suits teams that want docs and tasks together, and Jira suits software development. Pick based on whether you need reporting depth, documentation or engineering workflows.
How do you use Butler automation in Trello?
Open a board and go to Automation, then create a rule, a card or board button, or a scheduled command, all without code. For example, a rule can mark a card's due date complete when it moves to Done. Each trigger counts as one run against your plan's monthly quota, which resets on the first of the month.
Trello alternatives
Asana
SaaS / Web App · AI Tool · Mobile App · Desktop Software · APIWork management for teams, with timelines, automations, goals and AI Studio
Jira
SaaS / Web App · AI Tool · Mobile App · APIAtlassian's issue and project tracker for software and business teams