Thunkable Review 2026
No-code iOS and Android apps from AI prompts or drag and drop blocks
- Pricing
- Freemium · from $19
- Platforms
- Web, Android, iOS
- Best for
- Founders, educators and small agencies who need one native app on both Google Play and the App Store without writing code, and who want AI to draft the first version.
- Not ideal for
- Android-only hobby projects on a tight budget (Kodular is far cheaper), teams that need exportable source code, or anyone who wants a published app to stay live without a running subscription.
- Developer
- Thunkable, Inc., San Francisco, California, USA
- Founded
- 2015
Our verdict
Thunkable is a sensible pick if you need one no-code app live on both Google Play and the App Store, and the AI builder shortens the first draft a lot. Builder on annual billing is the realistic entry point; Android-only or budget projects are better served by Kodular.
How this score works: the DevMixa score is research-based — we compare official pricing, features, documentation, support options, security and data policies, and public user feedback against other tools in the same category. It is not a hands-on test; tools we test ourselves are marked “Tested”.
What is Thunkable?
Thunkable's homepage claims 11 million apps created by around 5 million users in 185 countries, and its Y Combinator profile says the company came out of MIT's App Inventor project before it was founded in 2015. That history matters for this thunkable app builder pricing and review, because the product you sign up for in October 2026 is two things at once: an AI builder that writes an app from a chat prompt, and the older drag and drop platform that school teachers and hobbyists have used for years. The question for an Indian founder or agency is simple. Which plan gets your app onto Google Play and the App Store, and what does that cost per year?
Two editors under one login: the AI builder and Thunkable X
According to Thunkable's documentation, there are now two separate platforms. The AI platform lives at ai.thunkable.com, where you describe an app in plain English and the AI Project Generator produces screens, components and logic. You then refine it in Modify mode or ask questions in Discuss mode. The Drag and Drop platform, still known to the community as Thunkable X, lives at x.thunkable.com and uses a visual designer plus a blocks editor for logic.
One detail catches people out: the docs say AI platform projects cannot be transferred to the drag and drop platform. If you start with a prompt and later want to tinker with blocks in the classic editor, you will be rebuilding. Pick one early. Non-technical founders validating an idea will probably prefer the AI side; teachers and students learning programming concepts tend to get more from the visual blocks.
What the AI token allowance buys you
AI usage is metered in tokens, and the allowance is the clearest difference between tiers. The docs list 2,000 tokens for Free (a one-time balance, not monthly), 20,000 a month on Accelerator, 50,000 on Builder and 100,000 on Advanced. Each build prompt and response costs roughly 250 tokens and a Discuss mode prompt about 100. The higher-quality Max model burns about 1.5 times as many tokens in Modify mode and twice as many in Discuss mode.
Put into practice, the free balance covers about eight build prompts. That is enough to see whether the AI understands your idea, not enough to finish an app. Builder's 50,000 tokens works out to around 200 build prompts a month on the standard model, which is comfortable for one serious project. Thunkable does not name the underlying model provider in the pages we checked.
Plans and prices on the official pricing page
Prices below come from thunkable.com/pricing and are in US dollars. There is no INR price list, so Indian buyers pay in USD by card and should expect their bank's foreign currency markup on top. Annual prices are shown as a monthly equivalent but are charged for the full year upfront.
| Plan | Monthly billing | Annual billing | Projects | Live published apps |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | $0 | 3 public, 5 screens each | Not included |
| Accelerator | $19/mo | $18/mo | 5 public, 1 private, 10 screens | Not listed |
| Builder | $59/mo | $37/mo | Unlimited public, 10 private | 1 |
| Advanced | $189/mo | $99/mo | Unlimited public and private | Unlimited |
| Enterprise / Education | Custom quote | Custom quote | Custom | Custom |
The gap between monthly and annual billing is large on the upper tiers. Builder costs $708 a year if you pay monthly and $444 if you commit annually. Advanced goes from $2,268 to $1,188. Accelerator barely changes ($228 versus $216), so monthly billing makes sense there while you test the waters. Builder also adds chat support and custom branding, and Advanced adds priority support.
Thunkable free plan limits you will hit first
The free tier is a sandbox. You get three projects, all public (anyone can view and remix them), a cap of five screens per project and the one-off 2,000 AI tokens. Version history on free accounts restores only the last three versions, while paid plans have no version limit, per the docs. App assets are capped at 5 MB per image and 50 MB in total on every plan.
The real ceiling is publishing. The pricing table lists no live published apps for Free, and the publishing docs say the Published Apps page is available only on Builder and Advanced. You can still build, preview in the browser and test on your own phone, which is plenty for a classroom or a weekend prototype. If your idea is confidential, though, note that private projects start only on Accelerator, and a five-screen limit rules out most real business apps.
Is Thunkable easy enough for a first-time builder?
For beginners, it is one of the gentler tools in this category. The live testing app, Thunkable Live, has over a million downloads on Google Play and updates the app on your phone as you change things in the browser, so there is no rebuild-and-reinstall loop. The blocks approach comes straight from App Inventor, so school students who have used Scratch-style blocks pick it up quickly.
Where beginners struggle is data and publishing. Connecting a database, handling login and getting through Apple's review process still demand patience, and Thunkable's docs warn that Apple will reject a submission if the app tracks users without the required disclosure.
Firebase integration, Airtable and other data sources
The Firebase integration is the most common backend choice. On the drag and drop platform, cloud variables save and read values from a Firebase Realtime Database without you placing a database component, and the docs recommend them for that reason. Thunkable provides a shared Firebase account for testing that it may clear periodically, so before release you should connect your own project.
The steps from the docs are short: create a free Firebase project, set the database rules (default rules work if you use Firebase sign-in), then paste your API key and Database URL into App Settings under Firebase Settings. Save a test value and confirm it appears in the Firebase console's Data tab. Thunkable's own Sign In feature is powered by Firebase, so one Firebase project can hold both your users and your data.
Beyond Firebase, the docs have separate guides for Airtable integration and Webflow as data sources, along with spreadsheet-style tables. On the AI platform, Thunkable's Cloud Database is built on Supabase and set up inside your own Supabase account, so the data sits in an account you own.
How Thunkable apps publish to Play Store and the App Store
For Android, the Download option emails you an APK you can install directly for testing, and the number of monthly downloads depends on your plan. Thunkable does not publish APK files to the store, though: its publish flow emails an Android App Bundle (AAB), which is the file you upload to Google Play. You upload it yourself through a Google Play developer account, which carries a one-time fee of about $25.
As an iOS app builder, Thunkable sends builds straight to App Store Connect, but you need your own Apple Developer account (a separate annual fee paid to Apple). The pricing page adds two terms worth reading twice: testing downloads expire after 72 hours, and if a paid subscription lapses, private projects turn read-only and published apps become unavailable to end users. In other words, a live app on Thunkable is a recurring cost, not a one-time build.
Thunkable vs Kodular for Android-first projects
Kodular is the other big descendant of App Inventor, and it competes almost entirely on price. Its pricing page lists a Free plan with 10 projects and a Premium plan at €3.99 a month or €40.99 a year with unlimited projects and extensions, plus an optional Kodular Monetize add-on. Kodular's site focuses on Android and APK builds; iOS is not mentioned.
So the comparison is fairly clear. If you only need an Android app and can live with a classic blocks workflow, Kodular is far cheaper. If you need iOS, AI generation, or a single tool that pushes to both stores, Thunkable is the one that covers it, at a much higher yearly cost.
Thunkable vs Appy Pie for small business apps
Appy Pie takes a different route: it is a template-driven app maker priced per app, starting at $16 per app a month for Basic. Basic and Gold publish to Google Play only, and iOS arrives with Platinum at $60 per app a month. It suits a restaurant or local shop that wants a standard catalogue-and-booking app without touching logic. Thunkable gives you far more control over screens and behaviour through blocks or AI prompts, which matters once your app needs custom flows. Those are monthly rates; Appy Pie says yearly billing saves up to 20% but does not print the yearly figure.
Thunkable vs MIT App Inventor and other alternatives
MIT App Inventor remains free and is still the standard for classrooms, but it has no AI app generation and is mainly an educational tool. Thunkable is the more commercial path from the same roots. Other alternatives worth a look are FlutterFlow, which is built on Flutter and aimed at people comfortable with some code, and Google AppSheet for internal tools that sit on top of spreadsheets.
Privacy, ownership and what the policies leave unsaid
Thunkable, Inc. is based in San Francisco. Its privacy policy says information may be transferred, processed and stored anywhere in the world, and it treats personal data your app's users enter as your responsibility under your own privacy policy. The policy does not state whether your project content is used to train AI models, so teams with sensitive ideas should ask support before pasting confidential details into prompts. There is no public status page linked from the homepage.
Our take on the thunkable app builder pricing and review question
Start on Free and spend the 2,000 tokens describing your real app, not a demo. Install Thunkable Live on your phone and test on the device. If you need one app live in both stores, Builder on annual billing ($444 a year) is the realistic minimum; agencies shipping several client apps will need Advanced. Budget separately for Apple's and Google's developer fees, and remember the app goes offline if you stop paying.
Thunkable key features
- AI Project Generator builds apps from text prompts
- Modify and Discuss AI modes
- Drag and drop designer with blocks editor (x.thunkable.com)
- Thunkable Live companion app for on-device testing
- Publishing to Google Play (AAB) and App Store Connect
- Web app publishing
- Cloud variables backed by Firebase Realtime Database
- Firebase-powered Sign In
- Airtable and Webflow data sources
- Supabase-based Cloud Database on the AI platform
- Version history (unlimited on paid plans)
✓ Verified on · source
Thunkable specifications
| SaaS / Web App | |
|---|---|
| Free trial | Free plan (no time limit) |
| Built for | Individuals, Small teams, Agencies, Students, Enterprise |
| Key integrations | Firebase, Supabase, Airtable, Webflow |
| Support channels | Live chat, Community |
| Mobile app | Android & iOS |
| AI Tool | |
| AI models used | Thunkable AI (standard and Max model options; provider not stated) |
| Input types | Text |
| Output types | Code |
| Free credits / limits | 2,000 AI tokens one-time on the Free plan |
| Mobile App | |
| Platforms | Android, iOS |
| Android package ID | com.thunkable.live |
✓ Verified on · source
Data & privacy
| Data stored in | Not stated (privacy policy says data may be processed anywhere in the world) |
|---|---|
| Trains on your data? | Not stated |
| Commercial use of outputs | Not stated |
✓ Verified on · source
Thunkable pricing
| Plan | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 3 public projects, no private projects, 5 screens per project, 2,000 AI tokens (one-time), last 3 versions restorable; no live published apps |
| Accelerator | $19/mo ($18/mo billed yearly) | 20,000 AI tokens a month, 5 public and 1 private project, 10 screens per project, Intercom support |
| Builder | $59/mo ($37/mo billed yearly) | 50,000 AI tokens a month, unlimited public and 10 private projects, unlimited screens, 1 live published app, custom branding, chat support |
| Advanced | $189/mo ($99/mo billed yearly) | 100,000 AI tokens a month, unlimited public and private projects, unlimited live published apps, custom branding, priority support |
| Enterprise | Custom | Team rollout, contact sales |
| Education | Custom | For students, teachers and districts, request pricing |
✓ Verified on · source
Thunkable pros & cons
Pros
- Builds native apps for both iOS and Android from one project
- AI builder can produce a working first draft from a prompt
- Thunkable Live gives instant on-device previews
- Familiar App Inventor-style blocks suit beginners and classrooms
- Big annual discounts on Builder and Advanced
Cons
- Store publishing starts at Builder ($37/mo yearly, $59 monthly) and Builder allows only one live app
- Published apps stop working for end users if the subscription lapses
- Free plan is limited to 3 public projects with 5 screens each
- Projects cannot move between the AI and drag and drop platforms
- No INR pricing and no public status page
Official Thunkable links
- Official website thunkable.com
- Pricing page thunkable.com
- Documentation docs.thunkable.com
- Privacy policy thunkable.com
- Google Play play.google.com
✓ Verified on · source
Thunkable user reviews
No user reviews yet. Used Thunkable? Share your experience to help others.
Write a review of Thunkable
Thunkable FAQ
What is Thunkable?
Thunkable is a no-code mobile app builder from Thunkable, Inc., a San Francisco company founded in 2015 that grew out of MIT's App Inventor project. It offers an AI builder that generates apps from text prompts and a drag and drop platform with a blocks editor. Both can produce native iOS and Android apps.
Is Thunkable free?
Yes, there is a free plan with 3 public projects, 5 screens per project and a one-time balance of 2,000 AI tokens. It is meant for learning and prototyping. Publishing live apps to the stores needs a paid plan, specifically Builder or Advanced.
How much does Thunkable cost?
According to the official pricing page, Accelerator is $19 a month ($18 a month billed yearly), Builder is $59 a month ($37 a month yearly) and Advanced is $189 a month ($99 a month yearly). Enterprise and Education plans are quoted on request. Prices are in USD with no separate INR list.
Can you publish Thunkable apps to Google Play?
Yes. On a plan that includes published apps (Builder allows one live app, Advanced unlimited), Thunkable emails you an Android App Bundle that you upload through your own Google Play developer account. Google charges a one-time fee of about $25 for that account.
Thunkable vs Kodular: which is better?
Kodular is much cheaper, with a free plan and a Premium plan at €3.99 a month, but its site focuses on Android apps. Thunkable costs more and adds iOS publishing and AI app generation. Choose Kodular for Android-only projects on a tight budget and Thunkable if you need both stores.
Thunkable vs MIT App Inventor: what is the difference?
Thunkable grew out of MIT App Inventor and uses a similar blocks approach to logic. App Inventor is free and built mainly for education, while Thunkable is a commercial product with an AI builder, paid plans and direct publishing to both app stores.
Can Thunkable build iOS apps?
Yes. Thunkable builds native iOS apps and can send builds to App Store Connect. You need your own Apple Developer account, and store publishing requires the Builder or Advanced plan. Thunkable's docs warn that Apple rejects apps that track users without the required disclosure.
How do you connect Firebase to Thunkable?
Create a free Firebase project, set its Realtime Database rules, then enter the project's API key and Database URL in App Settings under Firebase Settings. Cloud variables will then save to your own database. Thunkable's shared test Firebase account may be cleared, so connect your own before release.
What are the best Thunkable alternatives?
Kodular is a low-cost option for Android apps, and MIT App Inventor is free for classrooms. Appy Pie suits template-based small business apps, priced from $16 per app a month. FlutterFlow and Google AppSheet are worth comparing for developer-friendly builds and spreadsheet-based internal tools.
Is Thunkable good for beginners?
Yes, it is one of the easier app builders to learn. The Thunkable Live app shows changes on your phone instantly, the blocks come from App Inventor, and the AI builder can produce a first version from a prompt. Data connections and App Store review still take some patience.
Thunkable alternatives
Expo
SaaS / Web App · Mobile AppOpen-source React Native framework plus EAS cloud builds, store submission and OTA updates
AppSheet
SaaS / Web App · Mobile AppGoogle's no-code builder that turns Sheets and databases into mobile business apps
Kodular
SaaS / Web App · Mobile AppBrowser-based, block-coded builder for Android apps, with a free plan and €3.99 Premium
Appy Pie
SaaS / Web App · AI Tool · Mobile AppPrompt-driven no-code app maker for Android and iPhone, billed per app