Speechify Review 2026

Listen to PDFs, web pages and scanned books with 1,000+ voices at up to 5x speed

Research-based score 3.9/5 DevMixa score
Visit Speechify ↗ Free plan available
Pricing
Freemium · from $29
Platforms
Web, Android, iOS
Best for
Students, heavy readers, people with dyslexia or ADHD, and professionals who want to listen to documents on phone and browser
Not ideal for
Creators who need commercial voiceover from the reader app, or budget users who only need basic web page reading
Developer
Speechify Inc, Florida, United States

Our verdict

3.9out of 5

Speechify is the most complete listening app for people who read a lot, especially on a phone or from printed books. The $29 monthly price is high, so compare the yearly offer or the App Store India rupee options before paying. Creators should budget for Studio separately, since reader audio is personal-use only.

  • Ease of use4.4
  • Features4.2
  • Value for money3.4
  • Support3.6

How this score works: the DevMixa score is research-based — we compare official pricing, features, documentation, support options, security and data policies, and public user feedback against other tools in the same category. It is not a hands-on test; tools we test ourselves are marked “Tested”.

What is Speechify?

Speechify is a reading app from Speechify Inc that turns web pages, PDFs, emails and photographed book pages into spoken audio. It runs in the browser, on iPhone, iPad and Android, and as a Chrome extension, and the same brand also sells Speechify Studio for voiceovers and dubbing. This review explains Speechify text to speech price and voices for buyers in India and elsewhere, using the official pricing pages, the App Store India listing and the company's terms, all checked on 17 October 2026.

What Speechify is used for

The core job is simple: listen instead of read. You paste a link, open a PDF or point your phone camera at a printed page, and the app reads it aloud while highlighting each word. Students use it for course readers and research papers. Professionals clear long reports and newsletters on the commute. Writers proofread drafts by ear.

The product has grown well past a plain reader, though. Premium now bundles AI summaries and chat over your documents, AI podcasts generated from a file, voice typing for dictation and a voice AI assistant. A separate product, Speechify Studio, handles voiceover, AI dubbing and avatar video for creators. Developers get a third product, a speech API sold through speechify.ai.

Who Speechify is best for

Heavy readers who want to get through more material, people with reading difficulties, and anyone who spends hours on a phone are the natural fit. Video creators need Studio or ElevenLabs instead. Light readers can stay on the free tier.

Key features in practice

  • One library everywhere: documents sync between the web app, the mobile apps and the chrome extension, so a chapter started on a laptop continues on the phone.
  • Scan to listen: the Scan & Listen feature uses the camera and OCR to convert printed pages into text the app can read. It is a Premium feature.
  • PDF reader with cloud imports: files can come from local storage, Google Drive, Dropbox or OneDrive, and iPhone users can also pull them from iCloud.
  • Speed reading: playback goes up to 1.5x on Free and up to 5x on Premium.
  • Voice typing: dictate notes, emails or essays instead of typing them.
  • Celebrity voices: 9to5Mac reported in February 2026 that Speechify had added celebrity voices to its voice assistant. Speechify's own pages do not list the names, so check the voice picker in the app.

Speechify text to speech price and voices, plan by plan

The consumer app has two tiers. According to the pricing page, Free gives you 10 voices that Speechify itself calls robotic-sounding, playback up to 1.5x and basic reading features only. Premium costs $29 a month on monthly billing. It opens 1,000+ natural voices in 60+ languages, speeds up to 5x, Scan & Listen, AI summaries and chats, cloud storage integrations, voice typing, AI podcasts and the voice assistant.

A yearly toggle on the same page is labelled "Save 60%". The page does not print the yearly amount, so confirm it at checkout before paying. Speechify's cancellation help article describes Premium as an annual subscription.

There is a Premium free trial. The help article confirms that cancelling before the trial ends prevents any charge and that Premium features stay active until the trial period is over. The trial length is shown when you sign up.

Product and planOfficial priceWhat you get
Speechify Free$010 basic voices, up to 1.5x speed
Speechify Premium$29/month (monthly billing)1,000+ voices, 60+ languages, up to 5x, Scan & Listen, AI tools
Studio Free$0600 credits, no commercial rights
Studio Starter$100/year86,400 credits, commercial rights, stock media
Studio Creator$300/year345,600 credits, commercial rights
API pay-as-you-go$10 per 1M characters500K free characters a month to start

Speechify premium price in India

Speechify's website shows dollar prices only, so Indian buyers on the web pay $29 a month plus whatever foreign currency markup their bank adds. The App Store India listing is different. When we checked, it showed rupee in-app purchases including "Premium Monthly" at ₹899 and ₹1,199, plus items simply labelled "Premium" at ₹4,999, ₹11,900 and ₹14,900. Apple does not say which of these is the annual plan, and the spread points to different offers for different users. The price shown inside your own app is the one that applies.

Does it work in India? Yes. The iOS app is live on the Indian App Store, the web app and extension work normally, and Apple lists 40 interface languages for the app, including Hindi, Bengali and Urdu. One caution: Speechify's terms say App Store and Google Play purchases are final and Speechify will not refund them, so any refund request goes through Apple or Google under their own rules.

Speechify for dyslexia and ADHD

Hearing text while each word lights up is a long-standing support for readers with dyslexia, because it takes decoding out of the way and lets comprehension lead. Speechify is built around exactly that mode. Its App Store listing even carries a "Dyslexia Donation" in-app item, which shows how closely the company ties itself to this group. For ADHD, the useful parts are adjustable speed, the option to keep listening on a walk, and AI summaries that give a short version before you commit to a long document.

Keep expectations sensible. This is a reading aid, not a clinical tool. And the free tier, with robotic voices and a 1.5x cap, is a poor preview of how Premium actually feels. Students should first ask their college's accessibility office whether a reading tool is already provided.

Speechify Studio: voiceover and dubbing studio pricing

Studio is priced separately from Premium. Its pricing page lists three plans, all billed yearly: Free with 600 credits, Studio Starter at $100 a year with 86,400 credits, and Studio Creator at $300 a year with 345,600 credits. Every plan includes 1,000+ voices, the Voiceover Studio, the Dubbing Studio and a Voice Changer. Credits burn at 1 per second of voiceover, 3 per second of dubbing and 30 per second of avatar video. In plain terms, Starter covers about 24 hours of voiceover a year and Creator about 96 hours.

Commercial rights are the real reason to buy it. Studio Free carries no commercial rights. The terms allow commercial use of Voice Over Studio output, while audio from the general reading app needs a written licence from Speechify before any commercial use. So a YouTuber who wants narration should use Studio, not screen-record the Premium reader.

The Speechify API for developers

The developer product sits at speechify.ai. Its page lists pay-as-you-go at $10 per million characters and a free allowance of 500K characters a month, usable commercially and with no card required. Paid API plans cut overage to $8 (Pro) or $6 (Scale) per million. Current models are Simba 3.2 (English only) and Simba 3.0 (six languages). Calls go to REST endpoints with a bearer token, Python and TypeScript SDKs are available, and Speechify's own September 2026 measurement put median first-byte latency at 56 ms.

Speechify vs Natural Reader (NaturalReader)

NaturalReader is the closest like-for-like rival because it also targets personal listening. Its help centre lists three personal plans: Lite at $13.90 a month or $79 a year, Plus at $20.90 a month or $119 a year, and Pro at $25.90 a month or $159 a year. Plus and Pro allow up to two cloned voices. Audio from those plans is licensed for personal use only, the same restriction Speechify applies to its reader.

Which is better? NaturalReader is cheaper on monthly billing at every tier and prints its annual prices openly. Speechify offers more around the reading itself: camera scanning, a bigger voice library, 5x playback, AI summaries and podcasts, plus Studio and an API under one account brand. If you mainly need a PDF and web reader with decent voices, NaturalReader Lite is the value pick. If you read printed books, live on your phone or want the fastest playback, Speechify justifies its higher price.

ElevenLabs is a different kind of competitor. It is a voice-generation platform first: the Free plan gives 10k credits a month (about 10 minutes of speech, non-commercial, with attribution) and Starter costs $6 a month with a commercial licence, instant voice cloning and its own Dubbing Studio. For creators, ElevenLabs Starter ($72 a year on monthly billing) costs less than Studio Starter ($100 a year), though Speechify's yearly credit bundle is large. Murf sits in the same voiceover camp, with its Creator plan at $19 a month billed annually or $29 on monthly billing, and commercial use included. For working through a reading pile, ElevenLabs is the wrong tool.

Speechify free alternatives

  • Built-in phone readers: Spoken Content on iOS and Select to Speak on Android read on-screen text at no cost.
  • Microsoft Edge Read Aloud: the Edge browser reads web pages and PDFs aloud for free.
  • Speechify Free itself: fine for short articles if basic voices and 1.5x are acceptable.
  • ElevenLabs Free: roughly 10 minutes of high-quality speech a month for personal projects.

Is Speechify safe and legit?

Yes, it is an established US company. The Chrome Web Store lists Speechify Inc of St. Petersburg, Florida as the developer, with 1,000,000 users and a 4.5 rating from about 22.7K reviews. The privacy policy, dated 22 July 2026, says Speechify does not sell or rent personal data. Staff do not normally look at user content, but the policy allows it to be used to improve Speechify's algorithms and never says plainly whether your documents train AI models. Keep confidential files out of it. You can delete your account from Settings once any paid subscription is cancelled, although some data may be kept for fraud prevention, tax and other legal reasons.

Refund rules are strict. Subscriptions renew automatically for the same term, fees for the current term are not refunded, and there is no partial refund for unused days. To cancel, open Settings in the web app and choose Cancel Subscription, or use Apple or Google if you subscribed there. Premium stays active until the next billing date.

Limitations

  • The free tier is thin: 10 robotic voices and a 1.5x cap.
  • The yearly Premium amount is not printed on the pricing page.
  • No refunds for the current term, and app store purchases are final.
  • Reader audio cannot be used commercially.

How to get started

Install the extension or the mobile app and sign in. To import a PDF, use the app's import option and pick a file from your device or a connected cloud drive. If a document will not read properly, one common cause is a scan with no text layer. Speechify's help suggests rescanning in better light, finding a digital copy, or re-importing the file through cloud storage. Use the free tier for a few days first. Start the Premium trial only when you have a real reading load to test, and set a reminder before it ends.

Speechify key features

  • 1,000+ voices in 60+ languages (Premium)
  • Playback up to 5x (1.5x on Free)
  • Scan & Listen camera OCR
  • PDF and document reader with Google Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive and iCloud imports
  • Chrome extension for web pages
  • AI summaries and chat over documents
  • AI podcasts from files
  • Voice typing
  • Celebrity voices
  • Speechify Studio voiceover, dubbing and voice changer
  • Text-to-speech API with Simba models

✓ Verified on · source

Speechify specifications

SaaS / Web App
Free trialPremium free trial (length shown at signup)
Built forIndividuals, Students, Small teams, Developers
Key integrationsGoogle Drive, Dropbox, Microsoft OneDrive; iCloud imports on iOS
Mobile appAndroid & iOS
AI Tool
AI models usedSimba 3.2, Simba 3.0 (API)
Input typesText, Image, File / PDF, URL
Output typesAudio, Text, Video
Languages supported60+ languages (Premium)
Free credits / limitsFree reader plan; 600 Studio credits; 500K API characters/month
Mobile App
PlatformsAndroid, iOS, iPadOS
Extension / Plugin
Works withChrome
Latest version14.11.0
Active installs (official store)1,000,000 users (Chrome Web Store)
API
API styleREST
AuthenticationAPI key
Official SDKsPython, TypeScript
Free tier500K characters/month
Sandbox / test modeNot stated

✓ Verified on · source

Data & privacy

Trains on your data?Not stated
Commercial use of outputsPaid plans only

✓ Verified on · source

Speechify pricing

PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$010 robotic-sounding voices, speeds up to 1.5x, text-to-speech features only
Premium (monthly)$29/mo1,000+ voices, 60+ languages, up to 5x, Scan & Listen, AI summaries and chats, voice typing, AI podcasts; yearly billing marked 'Save 60%'
Premium Monthly (App Store India)₹899/mo or ₹1,199/moRupee in-app purchase options listed on App Store India; other 'Premium' items listed at ₹4,999, ₹11,900 and ₹14,900
Studio Free$0600 Studio credits, no commercial usage rights
Studio Starter$100/year86,400 credits, commercial rights, stock music, video, images and sound effects
Studio Creator$300/year345,600 credits, everything in Studio Starter
API pay-as-you-go$10 per 1M characters500K free characters per month, commercial use allowed; paid plans lower overage to $8 (Pro) or $6 (Scale) per 1M

✓ Verified on · source

Speechify pros & cons

Pros

  • Works across web, iOS, Android and Chrome with one synced library
  • Camera scanning turns printed books into audio
  • Very large voice library and 5x playback
  • Separate Studio plans include commercial voiceover rights
  • API free tier of 500K characters a month

Cons

  • Free plan is limited to 10 robotic voices and 1.5x
  • $29/month monthly price is high next to NaturalReader
  • Yearly Premium price is not shown on the pricing page
  • No refunds for the current term; app store purchases final
  • Reader audio cannot be used commercially

Speechify user reviews

No user reviews yet. Used Speechify? Share your experience to help others.

Write a review of Speechify

Your rating

Speechify FAQ

What is Speechify used for?

Speechify reads text aloud from web pages, PDFs, emails, documents and photographed book pages, highlighting words as it goes. People use it to get through study material, reports and articles faster, or to proofread their own writing by ear. Premium adds AI summaries, voice typing and AI podcasts.

How much does Speechify Premium cost?

Speechify's pricing page lists Premium at $29 a month on monthly billing, with a yearly option marked 'Save 60%' whose exact amount appears at checkout. In the App Store India listing, rupee in-app purchases include Premium Monthly at ₹899 and ₹1,199, and other Premium items up to ₹14,900.

Is Speechify free to use?

Yes, there is a free plan. It includes 10 basic voices that Speechify describes as robotic-sounding and playback up to 1.5x. Natural voices, 5x speed, Scan & Listen and the AI features need Premium, which comes with a free trial.

How do I import a PDF into Speechify?

Use the import option in the web or mobile app and choose a PDF from your device, or connect Google Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive or (on iPhone) iCloud and pick it from there. The Chrome extension can also read PDFs and pages you open in the browser.

Is Speechify safe and legit?

Yes. Speechify Inc is a US company whose Chrome extension has 1,000,000 users and a 4.5 rating on the Chrome Web Store. Its privacy policy says it does not sell or rent personal data, but it does not clearly say whether uploaded content trains AI models, so avoid uploading confidential files.

Speechify vs Natural Reader: which is better?

NaturalReader is cheaper, with personal plans from $13.90 a month or $79 a year, and it suits basic PDF and web listening. Speechify costs more but adds camera scanning, 5x speed, a larger voice library and AI tools. Pick NaturalReader for value and Speechify for mobile-heavy or fast listening.

Does Speechify work in India?

Yes. The iOS app is available on the Indian App Store with rupee pricing, and the web app and Chrome extension work normally in India. Apple lists 40 interface languages for the app, including Hindi, Bengali and Urdu.

What are the best free Speechify alternatives?

Free options include Spoken Content on iOS, Select to Speak on Android and Read Aloud in Microsoft Edge. ElevenLabs Free gives about 10 minutes of high-quality speech a month for non-commercial use. Speechify's own free plan also works for short articles.

How do I fix Speechify not reading a PDF?

A common cause is a scanned PDF with no text layer. Speechify's help suggests rescanning in better light, finding a digital copy of the book, or re-importing the file through Google Drive, Dropbox or iCloud. Checking for the latest app version is also sensible.

Who is Speechify best for?

It suits students, heavy readers, professionals with long reading lists, and people with dyslexia or attention difficulties who benefit from listening with word highlighting. Video creators should look at Speechify Studio or ElevenLabs instead, since reader audio cannot be used commercially.

Speechify alternatives

See all 14 Speechify alternatives →