Hugging Face Review 2026
Open model hub, ML libraries and routed inference across 18 providers
- Pricing
- Freemium · from $9
- Platforms
- Web
- Best for
- ML engineers, researchers and product teams who want to find, test, fine-tune or self-host open-weight models and call them through one token.
- Not ideal for
- Non-technical users who just want a chat assistant, or teams that only need one closed frontier model with a single vendor contract.
- Developer
- Hugging Face, Inc., New York City, USA
- Founded
- 2016
Our verdict
Hugging Face is the default home for open-weight models, and most of what developers need from it costs nothing. Pay the $9 PRO fee once you want hosted inference credits, Gradio apps or more ZeroGPU time, and price dedicated endpoints only when traffic is steady. Teams that only want one closed frontier model will find OpenAI's API simpler.
How this score works: the DevMixa score is research-based — we compare official pricing, features, documentation, support options, security and data policies, and public user feedback against other tools in the same category. It is not a hands-on test; tools we test ourselves are marked “Tested”.
What is Hugging Face?
Since the latest change to Hugging Face's billing docs, a Free account gets no monthly Inference Providers credits at all, while a $9 PRO account gets $2 every month. That single line is the heart of the hugging face inference api free vs pro question, and it surprises people who remember the older serverless API with a small free allowance. The rest of the platform is still largely free: the open models on the model hub, the transformers library, the datasets library and free static web apps. This review uses the official pricing page, the Hub docs and the inference docs to show what you pay for, what you never pay for, and where an Indian team spends its first real dollars.
Hugging Face Inference API free vs PRO: what the $9 actually changes
The old "Inference API" brand is gone. The company now calls the hosted calling service Inference Providers, and its own CPU and GPU backend is just one of 18 partners listed in the docs (HF Inference sits alongside Groq, Together, Fireworks, Cerebras, Replicate, Fal AI, Novita, Scaleway and others). Here is how the account tiers compare on the pricing page and in the docs.
| Item | Free | PRO ($9/mo) | Team ($20/user/mo) | Enterprise ($50/user/mo) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Inference Providers credits | None, buy credits | $2 a month | $2 per seat, pooled | $2 per seat, pooled |
| ZeroGPU daily quota | 5 minutes | 40 minutes | 40 minutes per member | 60 minutes per member |
| ZeroGPU apps you can host | 2 | 10 | 50 per org | 50 per org |
| Private storage | 100 GB | 1 TB | 1 TB per seat | 1 TB per seat |
| Hub API calls per 5 minutes | 1,000 | 2,500 | 3,000 per member | 6,000 per member |
Two practical points follow. First, $2 is a testing budget, not a production budget. Provider rates are passed through with no markup, so the credit stretches as far as the chosen provider's per-token price allows. Second, once credits run out you keep going on pay-as-you-go, and you can also plug in your own key from a provider such as Groq. With a custom key the provider bills you directly and Hugging Face charges nothing for the call, but your monthly credits stop applying.
One token, many providers, and an OpenAI-shaped endpoint
Every request needs a user access token with the "Make calls to Inference Providers" permission. Python developers use InferenceClient from huggingface_hub, JavaScript developers use @huggingface/inference, and anyone with existing OpenAI SDK code can point the base URL at router.huggingface.co/v1 for chat completions. Adding ":cheapest" or ":fastest" to a model name lets the router pick the provider, or you name one directly. Supported tasks per the docs are chat with text or vision models, embeddings (feature extraction), text to image, text to video and speech to text. Team and Enterprise admins can set a spending cap and switch off individual providers, which matters when a finance team wants a hard ceiling.
Hugging Face PRO price, and the bills that sit outside it
PRO costs $9 a month on the pricing page, with no INR price and no annual discount shown, so Indian buyers pay in dollars by card and should expect their bank's forex markup. Beyond the inference credit, PRO gives 8x the ZeroGPU quota with top queue priority, Dev Mode for Spaces, a Dataset Viewer on private datasets, a personal blog and up to 10 TB of public storage. Team adds SSO, audit logs, resource groups, storage regions and centralised token control. Enterprise adds SCIM, higher rate limits, annual managed billing and dedicated support.
The bills that grow are compute and storage, not seats. Extra private storage starts at $18 per TB per month. Paid app hardware runs from $0.03 an hour for an 8 vCPU CPU Upgrade to $0.40 for a T4 small, $1.00 for an A10G small, $2.50 for an A100 and $22 for eight RTX PRO 6000 cards. Dedicated inference endpoints start at about $0.03 an hour for a single AWS vCPU (the endpoint docs give $0.033), with single AWS GPUs from $0.50 (T4) through $4.50 (H100) to $9.25 (B200) per hour. They need a card on file and are billed by the minute while initialising or running, so an endpoint left up for a full month on a T4 is roughly $365.
Hugging Face Spaces free hardware, after the paid-plan rule
The free tier for apps changed in a way many older tutorials miss. The default CPU Basic machine (2 vCPU, 16 GB RAM, 50 GB of disk that is wiped on restart) still has no hourly cost, and it goes to sleep when nobody uses it. But the Spaces docs now say that creating a Gradio or Docker app needs PRO, Team or Enterprise. Static HTML apps stay free for everyone, and a free personal account in good standing (verified email, older than 30 days) may still host two Gradio apps on ZeroGPU.
ZeroGPU is the interesting part. It hands out slices of an Nvidia RTX Pro 6000 Blackwell card on demand: a half card with 48 GB VRAM by default, or the full 96 GB at double quota cost. Visitors spend their own daily minutes (2 for anonymous users, 5 for free accounts), so a popular demo does not burn the owner's money. To deploy a model, create a new Space, pick the Gradio SDK, add an app.py and a requirements.txt through the browser or git, and the build starts on push.
A Hugging Face Transformers pipeline tutorial in four lines
The quickest proof that a model fits your task is the pipeline helper. Install transformers (the docs currently document v5.17), then write from transformers import pipeline, build one with a task such as "text-generation" and a model id like google/gemma-2-2b, and call it on a string or a list of strings. If you leave out the device, it picks the first accelerator it finds (CUDA, Apple MPS or XPU) and falls back to CPU. For larger checkpoints, install Accelerate and pass device_map="auto" so weights spill to CPU or disk instead of crashing. Batching is off by default and the docs warn against it on CPU.
Downloading weights without the pipeline is just as short. Running hf download followed by the repo id pulls a full snapshot into the local cache, and from_pretrained or hf_hub_download do the same from Python. Around this sit the companion libraries that make the stack useful for real projects: diffusers for image and video generation, peft for LoRA adapters that fine-tune a large model on one GPU, accelerate for multi-device training, and gradio for building the interface you later ship to a Space.
Fixing a gated model that returns 401 or 403
Models from Meta, Google and others are often gated. You must be logged in, open the model page in a browser, accept the terms (which shares your username and email with the authors) and fill any extra form fields. Some repos approve instantly; others wait for a human, and a rejected user cannot ask again. After approval, scripts still fail unless they authenticate, so run hf auth login or pass token= to the loading call. If the error continues, check that the token has read rights and that the authors have not blocked EU IP addresses, which the docs allow them to do.
Pickle files, safetensors and what the Hub scans
Is it safe to download models from a public hub where anyone can upload? Mostly, if you pick the format carefully. Classic PyTorch .bin files use pickle, which can run arbitrary code when loaded. The Hub scans every file under 2 GB with ClamAV on each commit, lists the imports inside pickle files and flags suspicious ones, and works with Protect AI and JFrog scanners too, but the docs say plainly that this is best effort. Prefer repos that ship safetensors, a data-only format that cannot execute code, and favour verified organisations over anonymous uploads.
Hugging Face vs OpenAI API for an Indian product team
These two solve different problems. OpenAI sells access to its own closed models through one billing account and one set of docs, which is the fastest route to a strong general model. The Hub is the place to find, compare, fine-tune and host open-weight models (OpenAI's own gpt-oss weights are hosted there, as are DeepSeek's MIT-licensed checkpoints), then call them through whichever provider is cheapest or fastest that week. Pick OpenAI if you want frontier quality with minimal setup. Pick Hugging Face if you need to self-host for data residency, run a fine-tuned small model cheaply, or avoid lock-in to a single vendor.
Other alternatives worth a look are Replicate and Together AI for hosted open models, Groq for very low latency chat, and Google Vertex AI or AWS Bedrock if your company already runs on those clouds.
Model licences, logs and the pending Nvidia deal
For routed inference, the security docs say Hugging Face does not store request or response bodies, keeps debugging logs for up to 30 days without user data or tokens, and does not keep data for training. Each partner provider has its own data policy, so read the one you route to. The Hub is SOC 2 Type 2 certified. Commercial use depends on each model's licence, not on your plan: Apache 2.0 and MIT weights are open for business use, while some community licences add limits. Ownership is also changing. Nvidia signed a deal on 2 September 2026 to acquire Hugging Face for roughly $12.9 billion. Its SEC filing expects closing in the first half of 2027, subject to regulators, and Jensen Huang has said the platform will stay open.
Where Hugging Face costs you time or money
- Free accounts can no longer try hosted inference without buying credits first.
- Gradio and Docker apps need a paid plan, so many old "deploy for free" guides are out of date.
- Docs are spread across dozens of libraries, and model cards vary wildly in quality.
- The first Open LLM Leaderboard, which many blog posts still cite, was archived in June 2024, so treat those rankings as historical.
- Support for Free and PRO users is mostly the community forum; dedicated help starts at Enterprise.
A sensible first week on the Hub
Create a free account and an access token with read rights. Run a pipeline locally on a small model to check quality before paying anyone. Load a public dataset with load_dataset to test your evaluation script. If you need hosted calls, buy a few dollars of credits or move to PRO, and compare providers in the inference playground. Only after traffic looks steady should you price a dedicated endpoint, and set a spending limit before you share the URL.
Hugging Face key features
- Model hub with open-weight models, datasets and Spaces apps
- Inference Providers routing to 18 partners with one token
- OpenAI-compatible chat endpoint at router.huggingface.co/v1
- Transformers, Datasets, Diffusers, PEFT and Accelerate libraries
- ZeroGPU apps on Nvidia RTX Pro 6000 Blackwell slices
- Paid Spaces hardware from CPU Upgrade to 8x RTX PRO 6000
- Dedicated Inference Endpoints on AWS, Azure and GCP from about $0.03/hr
- Gated model access controls and malware and pickle scanning
- SSO, audit logs, storage regions and resource groups on Team
- Python and JavaScript InferenceClient SDKs
✓ Verified on · source
Hugging Face specifications
| API | |
|---|---|
| API style | REST |
| Authentication | API key |
| Official SDKs | Python (huggingface_hub InferenceClient), JavaScript (@huggingface/inference), OpenAI SDK via router.huggingface.co/v1 |
| Free tier | Hub API free (1,000 requests per 5 min); Inference Providers requires purchased credits on Free |
| Rate limits | Hub API per 5-minute window: 1,000 Free, 2,500 PRO, 3,000 Team, 6,000 Enterprise |
| Sandbox / test mode | Not stated |
| AI Tool | |
| AI models used | Open-weight models from the Hub served by 18 Inference Providers partners (HF Inference, Groq, Together, Fireworks, Cerebras, Replicate, Fal AI and others) |
| Input types | Text, Image, Audio, Code |
| Output types | Text, Image, Video, Code, Data |
| Free credits / limits | None on Free; $2/month on PRO; $2/month per seat on Team and Enterprise |
| SaaS / Web App | |
| Free trial | Free plan |
| Built for | Individuals, Small teams, Enterprise, Developers, Students |
| Key integrations | Gradio, Docker, GitHub, AWS, Azure, Google Cloud, OpenAI SDK |
| Support channels | Email, Community, Dedicated manager |
✓ Verified on · source
Data & privacy
| Trains on your data? | No |
|---|---|
| Commercial use of outputs | Not stated |
| Data stored in | Storage Regions on Team and Enterprise |
✓ Verified on · source
Hugging Face pricing
| Plan | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Public models, datasets and static Spaces; 100 GB private storage; 5 min/day ZeroGPU; up to 2 Gradio ZeroGPU Spaces; no monthly Inference Providers credits (buy credits to use). |
| PRO | $9/month | $2/month Inference Providers credits, 8x ZeroGPU quota (40 min/day) with highest priority, up to 10 ZeroGPU Spaces, 1 TB private storage, Dev Mode, private Dataset Viewer. |
| Team | $20/month per user | SSO (SAML and OIDC), storage regions, audit logs, resource groups, token controls; PRO compute benefits for all members; $2 credits per seat, pooled. |
| Enterprise | $50/month per user | All Team features plus SCIM, highest storage and rate limits, 60 min/day ZeroGPU per member, managed annual billing, legal and compliance processes, dedicated support. |
| Spaces hardware | From $0.03/hour | CPU Basic free; CPU Upgrade $0.03/hr; T4 small $0.40/hr; A10G small $1.00/hr; A100 large $2.50/hr; 8x RTX PRO 6000 $22/hr. |
| Inference Endpoints | From $0.03/hour | Billed per minute while initialising or running; AWS CPU from $0.03/hr (1 vCPU), T4 $0.50/hr, L4 $0.80/hr, A100 $2.50/hr, H100 $4.50/hr, B200 $9.25/hr. Active subscription and card on file required. |
✓ Verified on · source
Hugging Face pros & cons
Pros
- Largest public catalogue of open models and datasets, free to browse and download
- Provider pricing passed through with no markup on routed inference
- PRO at $9/mo is cheap for the quota and storage it adds
- Open-source libraries cover inference, fine-tuning and diffusion
- Clear hourly prices for app hardware and dedicated endpoints
Cons
- Free accounts get no monthly inference credits
- Gradio and Docker Spaces now need a paid plan to create
- No INR pricing; cards are charged in USD
- Docs and model card quality vary a lot across the ecosystem
Official Hugging Face links
- Official website huggingface.co
- Pricing page huggingface.co
- Documentation huggingface.co
- Privacy policy huggingface.co
- Status page status.huggingface.co
- Changelog huggingface.co
- GitHub github.com
- X / Twitter twitter.com
- LinkedIn linkedin.com
- YouTube youtube.com
✓ Verified on · source
Hugging Face user reviews
No user reviews yet. Used Hugging Face? Share your experience to help others.
Write a review of Hugging Face
Hugging Face FAQ
What is Hugging Face used for?
Developers use it to find, download, fine-tune and share open-weight AI models and datasets. It also hosts demo apps (Spaces), offers hosted inference through partner providers, and maintains libraries such as transformers, datasets, diffusers and peft.
How much does Hugging Face PRO cost?
PRO costs $9 a month according to the pricing page, billed in US dollars with no INR price listed. It includes $2 of monthly Inference Providers credits, 8x the free ZeroGPU quota, 1 TB of private storage and Dev Mode for Spaces.
Is Hugging Face free to use?
Browsing and downloading public models and datasets, using the open-source libraries and hosting static apps are free. Free accounts get no monthly Inference Providers credits, five minutes of ZeroGPU a day and up to two Gradio apps on ZeroGPU; anything more needs credits or a paid plan.
How do I download a model from Hugging Face?
Install huggingface_hub and run hf download with the repo id, or call from_pretrained in transformers, which downloads and caches the files on first use. Gated models also need you to accept the terms on the model page and log in with hf auth login.
Is Hugging Face safe to download models from?
The Hub scans files under 2 GB for malware and flags suspicious imports in pickle files, but the docs call this best effort. Prefer models stored as safetensors, which cannot run code on load, and stick to verified organisations.
Hugging Face vs OpenAI: which is better?
OpenAI is better if you want its closed frontier models with the least setup. Hugging Face is better for open-weight models, fine-tuning, self-hosting and switching between providers, and it also hosts OpenAI's open gpt-oss weights.
How do I deploy a model on Hugging Face Spaces?
Create a new Space, choose the Gradio, Docker or static SDK, and push an app file plus requirements.txt through the browser or git. Gradio and Docker apps need a paid plan, except that free accounts in good standing can run two Gradio apps on ZeroGPU.
What are the best Hugging Face alternatives?
Replicate and Together AI host open models behind simple APIs, and Groq focuses on fast chat inference. Google Vertex AI and AWS Bedrock suit teams already on those clouds, while OpenAI fits teams that only need closed models.
How do I fix a Hugging Face gated model access request error?
Log in, open the model page in a browser, accept the terms and complete the form, then wait for approval if the repo is manually reviewed. After approval, authenticate your script with hf auth login or a token argument; a 401 or 403 usually means a missing token, a pending request or a region block.
Who is Hugging Face best for?
It suits ML engineers, researchers and product teams who work with open-weight models and want to test, fine-tune or self-host them. Non-technical users who only want a chat assistant will find a consumer app simpler.
Hugging Face alternatives
OpenAI API
API · AI ToolPay-per-token access to GPT-6 Astra, Sol and Luna, plus voice, image and embedding models
Anthropic API
API · AI ToolPay-per-token access to Claude Opus, Sonnet, Haiku and Fable for your own apps
Google Gemini API
API · AI ToolPay-per-token access to Gemini 4 Argon, 3.8 Flash and Live voice models, with a free tier
OpenRouter
API · AI ToolOne OpenAI-compatible key for 500+ models, with provider-price tokens and auto failover